Louisiana Parishes
Louisiana County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Louisiana Parishes

Louisiana is divided into sixty-four parishes. On March 31, 1807, the territorial legislature divided the state into 19 parishes, without getting rid of the old counties (which continued to exist until 1845). In 1811, a constitutional convention organized the state into seven judicial districts, each consisting of groups of parishes. In 1816, the first official map of the state used the term, as did the 1845 constitution. Since then, the official term has been parishes.

Tangipahoa Parish, Louisiana

Tangipahoa Parish Education, Geography, and HistoryTangipahoa Parish, Louisiana Courthouse

Tangipahoa Parish is a parish located in the state of Louisiana. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 121,097. The parish seat is Amite City, but the largest city is Hammond. Tangipahoa comes from an Acolapissa word meaning "ear of corn" or "those who gather corn." The parish was founded in 1869.

Tangipahoa Parish comprises the Hammond, LA Metropolitan Statistical Area, which is also included in the New Orleans-Metairie-Hammond, LA-MS Combined Statistical Area. It is one of the Florida Parishes.

Etymology - Origin of Tangipahoa Parish Name

the parish name comes from an Acolapissa word meaning ear of corn or those who gather corn.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Tangipahoa County History

Tangipahoa Parish was created on 1869, from Livingston, St. Tammany, St. Helena and Washington Parishes and the parish name comes from an Acolapissa word meaning ear of corn or those who gather corn. The Parish seat is Amite.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the parish has a total area of 823 square miles (2,130 km2), of which 791 square miles (2,050 km2) is land and 32 square miles (83 km2) (3.9%) is water. Lake Pontchartrain lies on the southeast side of the parish.

Most of the parish south of Ponchatoula consists of Holocene coastal swamp and marsh - gray-to-black clays of high organic content and thick peat beds underlying freshwater marsh and swamp.

Neighboring Parishes

Bordering parishes and counties are as follows:

  • North: Pike County, Miss.
  • East: Washington Parish; St. Tammany Parish
  • Southeast: Lake Pontchartrain
  • South: St. John the Baptist Parish
  • Southwest: Livingston Parish
  • Northwest: St. Helena Parish; Amite County, Miss.


The parish is served by the Tangipahoa Parish School System. Southeastern Louisiana University is located in Hammond.

On seven occasions, the American Civil Liberties Union has sued the Tangipahoa Parish School Board, along with other defendants, for having allegedly sponsored and promoted religion in teacher-led school activities.

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge