Louisiana Parishes
Louisiana County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Louisiana Parishes

Louisiana is divided into sixty-four parishes. On March 31, 1807, the territorial legislature divided the state into 19 parishes, without getting rid of the old counties (which continued to exist until 1845). In 1811, a constitutional convention organized the state into seven judicial districts, each consisting of groups of parishes. In 1816, the first official map of the state used the term, as did the 1845 constitution. Since then, the official term has been parishes.

Terrebonne Parish, Louisiana

Terrebonne Parish Education, Geography, and HistoryTerrebonne Parish, Louisiana Courthouse

Terrebonne Parish is a parish located in the southern part of the state of Louisiana. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 111,860. The parish seat is Houma. The parish was founded in 1822.

Terrebonne Parish is part of the Houma-Thibodaux, LA Metropolitan Statistical Area.

It is the second-largest parish in the state in terms of land area, and it has been a center of Cajun culture since the 18th century. More than 10% of its residents speak French at home.

Etymology - Origin of Terrebonne Parish Parish Name

the parish was named in honor of the French phrase terre bonne or in English, good land.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Terrebonne Parish County History

Terrebonne Parish was created on 1822, from La Fourche Parish and the parish was named in honor of the French phrase terre bonne or in English, good land. The Parish seat is Houma.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the parish has a total area of 2,082 square miles (5,390 km2), of which 1,232 square miles (3,190 km2) is land and 850 square miles (2,200 km2) (41%) is water. It is the fifth-largest parish in Louisiana by land area and third-largest by total area. The Gulf of Mexico is located to the south of the parish.

Neighboring Parishes

Bordering parishes and counties are as follows:

  • Northeast: Lafourche Parish
  • South: Gulf of Mexico
  • Northwest: St. Mary Parish; Assumption Parish


Terrebonne Parish School District operates public schools.

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge