Louisiana Parishes
Louisiana County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Louisiana Parishes

Louisiana is divided into sixty-four parishes. On March 31, 1807, the territorial legislature divided the state into 19 parishes, without getting rid of the old counties (which continued to exist until 1845). In 1811, a constitutional convention organized the state into seven judicial districts, each consisting of groups of parishes. In 1816, the first official map of the state used the term, as did the 1845 constitution. Since then, the official term has been parishes.

Union Parish, Louisiana

Union Parish Education, Geography, and HistoryUnion Parish, Louisiana Courthouse

Union Parish is a parish located in the state of Louisiana. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 22,721. The parish seat is Farmerville. The parish was created on March 13, 1839, from a section of Ouachita Parish. Its boundaries have changed four times since then (in 1845, 1846, 1867, and 1873, respectively).

Union Parish is part of the Monroe, LA Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Union Parish Name

the parish was named in honor of the union of states which make up the US


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Union County History

Union Parish was created on 1839, from Ouachita Parish and the parish was named in honor of the union of states which make up the US The Parish seat is Farmerville.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the parish has a total area of 905 square miles (2,340 km2), of which 877 square miles (2,270 km2) is land and 28 square miles (73 km2) (3.1%) is water.

Geographically north central Louisiana and more closely resembles Lincoln Parish, to which Union is deeply tied culturally, politically, and educationally. The Piney Hills Country is very different from the flat, hardwood delta lands of northeastern Louisiana.

Neighboring Parishes

Bordering parishes and counties are as follows:

  • Northeast: Ashley County, Ark.
  • East: Morehouse Parish
  • Southeast: Ouachita Parish
  • Southwest: Lincoln Parish
  • West: Claiborne Parish
  • Northwest: Union County, Ark.


Residents are assigned to Union Parish Public Schools.

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge