Oregon Counties
Oregon County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Oregon Counties

There are thyirty-six counties in the state of Oregon. The Oregon Constitution does not explicitly provide for county seats.

Sherman County, Oregon

Sherman County Education, Geography, and HistorySherman County, Oregon Courthouse

Sherman County is a county located in the state of Oregon. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 1,765, making it the second-least populous county in Oregon. The county seat is Moro, and the largest city is Wasco. The county is named for William Tecumseh Sherman, a Union general in the American Civil War.

Etymology - Origin of Sherman County Name

It was named for General William Techumseh Sherman of Civil War fame.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Sherman County History

Sherman County was created in 1889 out of the northeast corner of Wasco County. It was named for General William Techumseh Sherman of Civil War fame. Sherman County is located in north central Oregon and is bounded by the Columbia River on the north, the John Day River and Gilliam County on the east, and the Deschutes River, Buck Hollow, and Wasco County on the west and south. The only change made to the county's borders occurred in 1891 when the Legislative Assembly moved the county line eighteen miles farther south. Sherman County contains 831 square miles. The town of Wasco was designated the county seat by the Legislative Assembly although the selection was contested between Wasco and Moro. Moro benefited from the addition to the southern part of the county of a portion of Wasco County and was the eventual winner of a series of elections to select a county seat.

The county contracted in 1892 to construct a building and vault on the main street of Moro for use as an interim courthouse. A permanent courthouse was built in 1899 on a hill overlooking the town and is still in use today.

A county court has governed Sherman County since its creation. Administrative functions for Sherman County continue to be the responsibility of the county court consisting of the county judge and two commissioners. Other elected officials are the assessor, county clerk, district attorney, sheriff, and treasurer.

The population of the county has remained fairly constant, in 1890 there were 1,792 residents and in 2000 there were 1934 residents, a 0.83% increase over 1990.

Sherman County is an agricultural county with no industry. It has a larger percentage of its 831 square miles under cultivation than any county in Oregon. Its farms are devoted to growing wheat and barley. Cattle raising also contributes to the county's economy as does recreation on the rivers bordering the county.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 831 square miles (2,150 km2), of which 824 square miles (2,130 km2) is land and 7.5 square miles (19 km2) (0.9%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Wasco County - southwest
  • Gilliam County - east
  • Klickitat County, Washington - north


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge