Wyoming Counties
Wyoming County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Wyoming Counties

There are twenty-three Counties in the state of Wyoming. There were originally five Counties in the Wyoming Territory: Laramie and Carter, established in 1867; Carbon and Albany established in 1868; and Uinta, an annexed portion of Utah and Idaho, extending from Montana (including Yellowstone Park) to the Wyoming-Utah boundary. On July 10, 1890, Wyoming was admitted to the Union with thirteen counties.

Albany County, Wyoming

Albany County Education, Geography, and History

Albany County, Wyoming Courthouse

Albany County is a county in the state of Wyoming. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 36,299. Its county seat is Laramie, the site of the University of Wyoming. It is north from the Colorado state line.

Albany County comprises the Laramie, WY Micropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Albany County Name

Named by a former resident of Albany, New York, who was a member of the Dakota Legislature. Named before Wyoming became a territory.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Albany County History

Albany County was organized December 16, 1868 from Laramie County in Dakota Territory, which at the time had jurisdiction over part of modern-day Wyoming. It became a county in Wyoming Territory when that territory's government was formally organized on May 19, 1869.

Charles D. Bradley, a member of the legislature of the Dakota Territory named the county for Albany, New York, the capital of his native state. In 1875, Albany County lost territory when Crook County and Johnson County were created by the legislature of the Wyoming Territory. Converse County was created with land ceded by Albany County in 1888. The boundaries of the county were final at that time except for minor adjustments in 1911 and 1955.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 4,309 square miles (11,160 km2), of which, 4,273 square miles (11,066 km2) of it is land and 36 square miles (93 km2) of it (0.84%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Converse County, Wyoming (north)
  • Platte County, Wyoming (east)
  • Laramie County, Wyoming (east)
  • Larimer County, Colorado (south)
  • Jackson County, Colorado (southwest)
  • Carbon County, Wyoming (west)


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge