Wyoming Counties
Wyoming County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Wyoming Counties

There are twenty-three Counties in the state of Wyoming. There were originally five Counties in the Wyoming Territory: Laramie and Carter, established in 1867; Carbon and Albany established in 1868; and Uinta, an annexed portion of Utah and Idaho, extending from Montana (including Yellowstone Park) to the Wyoming-Utah boundary. On July 10, 1890, Wyoming was admitted to the Union with thirteen counties.

Crook County, Wyoming

Crook County Education, Geography, and History

Crook County, Wyoming Courthouse


Etymology - Origin of Crook County Name

Named for General George Crook, soldier and Indian fighter.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Crook County History

Crook County was organized in 1875. It was named for Brigadier General George Crook, a commander during the Indian Wars.

Crook County is a place of beautiful diversity and breathtaking scenery. Many residents describe the area as "living in a postcard." Great snow, hunting, scenery, and people make the area one of the great "undiscovered" secrets of the old West.

Sundance, WY

The Crook County seat, lies at the foot of the Sundance Mountain, so named because the Sioux Indians held their councils and religious ceremonies at a place called Wi Wacippi Paha, or Temple of the Sioux. It is believed that Harry Longabaugh, better known as the Sundance Kid, assumed his nickname in Sundance during his 18-month sentence for horse stealing

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 2,871 square miles (7,435 km2), of which, 2,859 square miles (7,404 km2) of it is land and 12 square miles (31 km2) of it (0.42%) is water.

Devils Tower National Monument is located in Crook County.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Campbell County, Wyoming - west
  • Weston County, Wyoming - south
  • Lawrence County, South Dakota - east
  • Butte County, South Dakota - east
  • Carter County, Montana - north
  • Powder River County, Montana - northwest


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge