Wyoming Counties
Wyoming County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Wyoming Counties

There are twenty-three Counties in the state of Wyoming. There were originally five Counties in the Wyoming Territory: Laramie and Carter, established in 1867; Carbon and Albany established in 1868; and Uinta, an annexed portion of Utah and Idaho, extending from Montana (including Yellowstone Park) to the Wyoming-Utah boundary. On July 10, 1890, Wyoming was admitted to the Union with thirteen counties.

Fremont County, Wyoming

Fremont County Education, Geography, and History

Fremont County, Wyoming Courthouse

Fremont County is a county located in the state of Wyoming. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 40,123. Its county seat is Lander. The county was founded in 1884 and is named for John C. Frémont, a general, explorer, and politician. It is roughly the size of the state of Vermont.

Fremont County comprises the Riverton, WY Micropolitan Statistical Area

Etymology - Origin of Fremont County Name

Named for General John Charles Fremont, pathfinder and explorer.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Fremont County History

Fremont County was created in 1884. It is the historical home of the Wind River Indian Reservation, home of the Shoshone and Arapaho tribes of Native Americans. It included Park, Big Horn, and Hot Springs counties until 1890 when they split. It was named for General John Charles Fremont, who was a surveyor and explorer searching for a route to the Pacific ocean in 1842. His group of 20 men were guided by Kit Carson and Enos, a Shoshone Indian.

South Pass, a break in the continental divide, is also located in Fremont county. Indians had been using the pass for centuries before Robert Stuart and his group were the first whites to cross the pass October 12, 1812. The first horse drawn wagons to cross the pass were lead by Captain Benjamin Bonneville in 1832. Gold was discovered here in 1842. The big boom came in 1867 when the Carissa mine (Named for Clarissa Whitney who is thought to be the first white child born in Wyoming), Miner Delight, and Burr mines were discovered, producing millions of dollars in gold. Over 5,000 people came to the area during this time to search for gold.

Fremont County produces more than half of the uranium in Wyoming, which is second in the United States in uranium production. Jade also found in Fremont County which is the Wyoming State gem stone.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 9,266 square miles (23,998 km2), of which, 9,182 square miles (23,782 km2) of it is land and 84 square miles (216 km2) of it (0.90%) is water.

Elevations and climate range from desert at Boysen State Park to glaciers at 13,804-foot (4,207 m) Gannett Peak, the highest point not only in Wyoming but in the three Central Rockies states of Wyoming, Idaho and Montana. It is the second largest county in land size (after Sweetwater County, WY) in the six Rocky Mountain States. The southern end of the county is traversed by the Oregon Trail and in the northwest corner lies Dubois, a gateway town for Yellowstone National Park and Grand Teton National Park. Although the county seat is Lander, the largest community is Riverton, home of Central Wyoming College and the economic hub of the region. A large portion of the western edge of the county follows the Continental Divide at the crest of the Wind River Range of the Rocky Mountains, known for its vast wilderness areas and home of the largest glaciers in the American Rocky Mountains.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Hot Springs County, Wyoming - north
  • Washakie County, Wyoming - northeast
  • Natrona County, Wyoming - east
  • Carbon County, Wyoming - southeast
  • Sweetwater County, Wyoming - south
  • Sublette County, Wyoming - west
  • Teton County, Wyoming - northwest
  • Park County, Wyoming - northwest


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge