Wyoming Counties
Wyoming County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Wyoming Counties

There are twenty-three Counties in the state of Wyoming. There were originally five Counties in the Wyoming Territory: Laramie and Carter, established in 1867; Carbon and Albany established in 1868; and Uinta, an annexed portion of Utah and Idaho, extending from Montana (including Yellowstone Park) to the Wyoming-Utah boundary. On July 10, 1890, Wyoming was admitted to the Union with thirteen counties.

Johnson County, Wyoming

Johnson County Education, Geography, and History

Johnson County, Wyoming Courthouse

Johnson County is a county located in the north central part of the state of Wyoming. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 8,569. The county seat is Buffalo. Kaycee is the only other incorporated town in the county.

Etymology - Origin of Johnson County Name

Named for E. P. Johnson, a lawyer of Cheyenne.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Johnson County History

Johnson County was organized in 1875. In April, 1892, it was the scene of the Johnson County War, a range war between large cattle outfits and small stock growers (allegedly rustlers).

Johnson County, Wyoming - encompassing the rolling plains of the Old West and the towering peaks of the Bighorn Mountains. It's a land rich in both history and scenery. A place of sheep herders and cattle barons, renegades and rustlers. Where Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid holed up after their outlaw exploits. Where miners consumed with gold rush fever passed through on the Bozeman Trail. Where some of the most famous Indian battles in American history occurred. And where the Johnson County Cattle War, a rangeland dispute which historians often deem one of the most notorious events in our history, left its mark here in the late 1880s ... and that Owen Wister wrote about in his epic American novel, The Virginian.
Johnson County is a place of legend and living history surrounded by one of the last best unspoiled places in the American West. Come see us ... experience both the beauty of the Bighorn Mountain wilderness and the history of the Western frontier.

The County Seat of Johnson County, Wyoming is the City of Buffalo, with a population of just under 4,000 people. The county is also home to the town of Kaycee.

One of Johnson County's biggest attractions is the magnificent Bighorn Mountains and Bighorn National Forest. Here you will find an abundance of wildlife and an endless variety of outdoor experiences, including hiking and backpacking, camping, fishing, hunting, mountain horseback riding, snowmobiling, skiing and just plain sightseeing.

Source: (from the official Site of the Buffalo, Wyoming Chamber of Commerce. 55 N. Main Street, Buffalo, WY 82834 Phone: 800-227-5122)

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 4,175 square miles (10,812 km2), of which, 4,166 square miles (10,791 km2) of it is land and 8 square miles (22 km2) of it (0.20%) is water.

Johnson County lies to the southeast of the Bighorn mountains along Interstate 25 and Interstate 90. The Powder River flows northward through eastern Johnson County.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Sheridan County (north)
  • Campbell County (east)
  • Converse County (southeast)
  • Natrona County (south)
  • Washakie County (west)
  • Big Horn County (northwest)


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge