Wyoming Counties
Wyoming County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Wyoming Counties

There are twenty-three Counties in the state of Wyoming. There were originally five Counties in the Wyoming Territory: Laramie and Carter, established in 1867; Carbon and Albany established in 1868; and Uinta, an annexed portion of Utah and Idaho, extending from Montana (including Yellowstone Park) to the Wyoming-Utah boundary. On July 10, 1890, Wyoming was admitted to the Union with thirteen counties.

Park County, Wyoming

Park County Education, Geography, and History

Park County, Wyoming Courthouse

Park County is a county located in the state of Wyoming. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 28,205. The county seat is Cody.

Etymology - Origin of Park County Name

Named for Yellowstone National Park.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Park County History

Park County was organized in 1909.

The flags of five countries have flown over that part of Wyoming which is now Park County- the flags of Spain, Great Britain, Mexico, France and the United States. For many years it was in Dakota Territory. With the birth of statehood in 1890, Wyoming, the 44th state, was divided into five counties running from North to South across the state. What is now Park County was first a part of Sweetwater County, then Fremont County, and then Big Horn County; until 1909 when the Wyoming State Legislature defined and set aside the boundaries of Park County. A year later in November 1910, an election was held to determine the county seat. Competition was keen between Cody and Powell with Cody winning by a wide margin. Records have been kept in Park County since 1911. The Historic Park County Courthouse was completed in 1912 and has housed the Archives since 1985.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 6,969 square miles (18,048 km2), of which, 6,942 square miles (17,981 km2) of it is land and 26 square miles (68 km2) of it (0.37%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Park County, Montana (north)
  • Carbon County, Montana (northeast)
  • Big Horn County (east)
  • Washakie County (east-southeast)
  • Hot Springs County (southeast)
  • Fremont County (south)
  • Teton County (southwest)
  • Gallatin County, Montana (northwest)


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge