Wyoming Counties
Wyoming County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Wyoming Counties

There are twenty-three Counties in the state of Wyoming. There were originally five Counties in the Wyoming Territory: Laramie and Carter, established in 1867; Carbon and Albany established in 1868; and Uinta, an annexed portion of Utah and Idaho, extending from Montana (including Yellowstone Park) to the Wyoming-Utah boundary. On July 10, 1890, Wyoming was admitted to the Union with thirteen counties.

Platte County, Wyoming

Platte County Education, Geography, and History

Platte County, Wyoming Courthouse

Platte County is a county located in the state of Wyoming. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 8,667. Its county seat is Wheatland

Etymology - Origin of Platte County Name

Takes its name from the North Platte River. Platte from the French "plate", meaning "dull" or "shallow", a term singularly applicable to this stream.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Platte County History

In 1911, Platte County was created from a portion of Laramie County, which joins it to the south. Platte County takes its name from the North Platte River


Wheatland, the county seat and largest town in Platte County, provides easy access to scenic and recreational areas. Set amid farms and ranches that are irrigated by the largest privately owned irrigation system in the Country, the town has a nine-hole public golf course, city parks with a free camping area, a swimming pool and tennis courts, Laramie Peak Museum, library, bowling alley, movie theater and fairgrounds. Before a modern water system was developed in Wheatland, water was brought to each home by ditches which ran down each street from Canal No. 2 to irrigate lawns and gardens and to furnish water for homes. Wheatland still has many remains of the In-town irrigation system that made all the old trees in Wheatland. Wheatland was incorporated in 1905, and because the county seat of Platte County in 1911.

The town of Chugwater is one of the older settlements in Platte County. The first building at this site was erected in the fall of 1867 after the government road had been opened through this section. The town takes its name from Chugwater Creek, on which it is situated.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 2,111 square miles (5,467 km2), of which, 2,085 square miles (5,400 km2) of it is land and 26 square miles (67 km2) of it (1.23%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Niobrara County (northeast)
  • Goshen County (east)
  • Laramie County (south)
  • Albany County (west)
  • Converse County (northwest)


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge