Wyoming Counties
Wyoming County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Wyoming Counties

There are twenty-three Counties in the state of Wyoming. There were originally five Counties in the Wyoming Territory: Laramie and Carter, established in 1867; Carbon and Albany established in 1868; and Uinta, an annexed portion of Utah and Idaho, extending from Montana (including Yellowstone Park) to the Wyoming-Utah boundary. On July 10, 1890, Wyoming was admitted to the Union with thirteen counties.

Sweetwater County, Wyoming

Sweetwater County Education, Geography, and History

Sweetwater County, Wyoming Courthouse

Sweetwater County is a county located in the state of Wyoming. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 43,806.Its county seat is Green River. In area, it is the largest county in the state. It is in the southwestern part of Wyoming, north of the Colorado-Utah state line.

Sweetwater County comprises the Rock Springs, WY Micropolitan Statistical Area..[

Etymology - Origin of Sweetwater County Name

Named for Sweetwater River.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Sweetwater County History

Sweetwater County was originally created on December 17, 1867 as a county within the Dakota Territory. The county was derived from land that was previously part of Laramie County. The county was originally named Carter County for Judge W.A. Carter of Fort Bridger In 1869, the newly established legislature of the Wyoming Territory renamed the county for the Sweetwater River.

Also in 1869, Uinta County was organized with land ceded by Sweetwater County. Johnson County, originally named Pease County, was formed from parts of Sweetwater County and Carbon County in 1875. In 1884, Sweetwater County lost territory when Fremont County was created. Sweetwater County also lost territory when Carbon County was formed in 1886. At that point, the county achieved its present boundaries except for minor adjustments in 1909, 1911, and 1951.

South Pass City was the county seat from 1867 until 1873. At that time, the county seat was moved to Green River.

Green River

Nestled in a valley at the confluence of the Green River and Bitter Creek, the town of Green River is situated among some of the most famous and beautiful rock formations in the West. This stunning backdrop was the jumping-off point for John Wesley Powell's famous river explorations. The city's story is intertwined with the arteries of westward expansion. The Colorado River system, the Cherokee and Overland Trails, the Union Pacific Railroad, the Lincoln Highway, the interstate highway system, and even America's first intergalactic Space Ports are all part of the story of Green River. After its humble start as an Overland Trail stage station, the town grew in anticipation of the arrival of the transcontinental railroad and eventually became the Sweetwater County seat. The Green River, ranching, recreation, and the chemical industry also play a part in the town's history."

Geography: Land and Water

The largest county in Wyoming, Sweetwater County is larger than six states and is the eighth largest county nationwide (not including [[boroughs]] and census areas in [[Alaska]]).

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 10,491 square miles (27,172 km2), of which, 10,425 square miles (27,001 km2) of it is land and 66 square miles (171 km2) of it (0.63%) is water. The largest county in Wyoming, Sweetwater County is larger than six states and is the eighth largest county nationwide (not including boroughs and census areas in Alaska).

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Fremont County (north)
  • Carbon County (east)
  • Moffat County, Colorado (south)
  • Daggett County, Utah (southwest)
  • Summit County, Utah (west-southwest)
  • Uinta County (southwest)
  • Lincoln County (west)
  • Sublette County (northwest)


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge