Wyoming Counties
Wyoming County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Wyoming Counties

There are twenty-three Counties in the state of Wyoming. There were originally five Counties in the Wyoming Territory: Laramie and Carter, established in 1867; Carbon and Albany established in 1868; and Uinta, an annexed portion of Utah and Idaho, extending from Montana (including Yellowstone Park) to the Wyoming-Utah boundary. On July 10, 1890, Wyoming was admitted to the Union with thirteen counties.

Teton County, Wyoming

Teton County Education, Geography, and History

Teton County, Wyoming Courthouse

Teton County is a county located in the state of Wyoming. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 21,294. Its county seat is Jackson. It is east from the Idaho state line.

Teton County is part of the Jackson, WY-ID Micropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Teton County Name

Named for the Teton Mountains. Indians called them Tee-win-ot, three pinnacles. French trappers applied the name "Les Trois Tetons".


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Teton County History

Teton County was created February 15, 1921 with land from Lincoln County and organized the following year. The county was named for the Teton Range. The county was created because the inhabitants lived too far away from Kemmerer, the county seat of Lincoln County. The creation of the county required a special act of the Wyoming Legislature, because the area was too poor and had too few people to qualify for county status under the normal requirements.

 Teton County, Wyoming is one of the few counties in the United States to border its namesake in another state--in this case, Teton County, Idaho.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 4,222 square miles (10,934 km2), of which, 4,008 square miles (10,380 km2) of it is land and 214 square miles (554 km2) of it (5.07%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Park County (north)
  • Fremont County (east)
  • Sublette County (southeast)
  • Lincoln County (south)
  • Bonneville County, Idaho and Teton County, Idaho (southwest)
  • Fremont County, Idaho (west)
  • Gallatin County, Montana (northwest)


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge