Wyoming Counties
Wyoming County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Wyoming Counties

There are twenty-three Counties in the state of Wyoming. There were originally five Counties in the Wyoming Territory: Laramie and Carter, established in 1867; Carbon and Albany established in 1868; and Uinta, an annexed portion of Utah and Idaho, extending from Montana (including Yellowstone Park) to the Wyoming-Utah boundary. On July 10, 1890, Wyoming was admitted to the Union with thirteen counties.

Washakie County, Wyoming

Washakie County Education, Geography, and History

Washakie County, Wyoming Courthouse

Washakie County is a county located in the state of Wyoming. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 8,533. Its county seat is Worland

Etymology - Origin of Washakie County Name

Named for Chief Washakie of the Shoshoni Indian Tribe in Wyoming.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Washakie County History

Washakie County was created on February 21, 1911 with land detached from Big Horn County and organized in 1913. Washakie County was named for the head chief of the Shoshone people, Chief Washakie, who became an ally of the US Government.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 2,243 square miles (5,809 km2), of which, 2,240 square miles (5,802 km2) of it is land and 3 square miles (7 km2) of it (0.12%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Big Horn County (north)
  • Johnson County (east)
  • Natrona County (southeast)
  • Fremont County (south)
  • Hot Springs County (west)
  • Park County (northwest)


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge