Colorado Counties
Colorado County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Colorado Counties

Colorado currently has sixty-four counties. In February 1866, the first new county, Las Animas, was created. Alamosa was created in 1913, and in 2001, Broomfield was recognized as a city-county, bringing a total of 64 counties.

Boulder County, Colorado

Boulder County Education, Geography, and HistoryBoulder County, Colorado Courthouse

Boulder County is one of the 64 counties of the state of Colorado of the United States. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 294,567. The most populous municipality in the county and the county seat is Boulder. Boulder County was created on November 1, 1861 as one of the 17 original counties of the Territory of Colorado. The county is named for the abundance of granite boulders along Boulder Creek.

Boulder County comprises the Boulder, CO Metropolitan Statistical Area, which is included in the Denver-Aurora, CO Combined Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Boulder County Name

Boulder County is named from the abundance of boulders in the area.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Boulder County History

The territory within Boulder County first became part of the United States in 1803 with the Louisiana Purchase. The first record of modern settlement in Boulder County dates from March 1859 where reference is made in a letter to the laying out of the City of Boulder.

Boulder County was one of the original 17 counties created by the Territory of Colorado on 1861-11-01. The county was named for Boulder City and Boulder Creek, so named because of the great quantity of boulders in the area. Boulder County keeps basically the same borders as in 1861, although a small portion of its southeastern corner became part of the City and County of Broomfield in 2001.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 751 square miles (1,946 km2), of which, 742 square miles (1,923 km2) of it is land and 9 square miles (23 km2) of it (1.19%) is water.

Boulder county is situated in the north-central part of Colorado, Northwest of Denver, the western border of the County is the Continental Divide. The eastern half of the County is rolling plains, and the western half is mountainous.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Larimer County
  • Northeast: Weld County
  • Southeast: Adams County
  • South: Jefferson County
  • Southwest: Gilpin County
  • West: Grand County


Colorado Colleges, Universities, & Schools
Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge