Find the Right School

Find a College

Begin Now!

Online Colleges
Campus Colleges
Colorado Counties
Colorado County map
Click Image to Enlarge
Colorado Counties
Colorado currently has sixty-four counties. The Counties of Colorado are important components of government since the state has no secondary civil subdivisions such as townships. Two counties, the City and County of Denver and the City and County of Broomfield, have consolidated city and county governments.. No organized Counties of the District of Louisiana, the Territory of Missouri, or the Territory of Nebraska existed within the present boundaries of the State of Colorado.

Conejos County, Colorado

Conejos County History, Geography, and Demographics

County Seat: Conejos
Year Organized: 1861
Square Miles: 1,287
Court House:

P.O. Box 157
County Courthouse
Conejos, CO 81129-0157

Etymology - Origin of County Name

Conejos County is named from the Spanish word for rabbits, as cottontail rabbits are abundant in the area.


County QuickFacts: Census Bureau Quick Facts

County History

Conejos County was one of the original 17 counties created by the General Assembly of the Territory of Colorado on 1861-11-01, although it was originally named Guadalupe County and renamed Conejos County a week later, on November 7. Its name coming from the spanish term conejo, meaning rabbit, for the large abundence of rabbits in the area. Also early in its existence, the county seat was moved from the town of Guadalupe to Conejos. The original boundaries of the county included a large portion of southwestern Colorado.

In 1874, most of the western and northern portions of the county were broken away to form parts of Hinsdale, La Plata and Rio Grande counties, and Conejos County achieved its modern borders in 1885 when its western half was taken to create Archuleta County.


According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,291 square miles (3,343 kmē), of which, 1,287 square miles (3,334 kmē) of it is land and 4 square miles (9 kmē) of it (0.28%) is water.

Neighboring Counties:

  • Northeast: Alamosa County
  • East: Costilla County
  • Southeast: Taos County, N.M.
  • Southwest: Rio Arriba County, N.M.
  • West: Archuleta County
  • Northwest: Rio Grande County

Cities and Towns:

- Antonito town Incorporated Area
- Conejos (County Seat)
- La Jara town Incorporated Area
- Manassa town Incorporated Area
- Romeo town Incorporated Area
- Sanford town Incorporated Area

County Resources:

Enter County Resources and Information Here

County Resources
Counties: US Map
The history of our nation was a prolonged struggle to define the relative roles and powers of our governments: federal, state, and local. And the names given the counties, our most locally based jurisdictions, reflects the "characteristic features of this country!"