Colorado Counties
Colorado County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Colorado Counties

Colorado currently has sixty-four counties. In February 1866, the first new county, Las Animas, was created. Alamosa was created in 1913, and in 2001, Broomfield was recognized as a city-county, bringing a total of 64 counties.

Delta County, Colorado

Delta County Education, Geography, and HistoryDelta County, Colorado Courthouse

Delta County is one of the 64 counties of the state of Colorado. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 30,952. The county seat is Delta. Delta County was created on February 11, 1883 from Gunnison County. The county is named for the town of Delta located at the delta of the Uncompahgre River.

Etymology - Origin of Delta County Name

Delta County is named for Delta, Colorado, located at the Uncompahgre River delta.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Delta County History

Delta County was created by the Colorado legislature on February 11, 1883, out of portions of central Gunnison County. The county is named for the City of Delta, which was named for its location on the delta of the Uncompahgre River.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,149 square miles (2,975 km2), of which, 1,142 square miles (2,958 km2) of it is land and 6 square miles (17 km2) of it (0.56%) is water.

 Delta county is located in west Colorado. The county is located on Colorado's western slope at the base of Grand Mesa, one of the largest flat top mountains in the world. An agricultural and heritage center, this region is home to varied communities.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Southeast: Gunnison County
  • Southwest: Montrose County
  • Northwest: Mesa County


Colorado Colleges, Universities, & Schools
Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge