Colorado Counties
Colorado County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Colorado Counties

Colorado currently has sixty-four counties. In February 1866, the first new county, Las Animas, was created. Alamosa was created in 1913, and in 2001, Broomfield was recognized as a city-county, bringing a total of 64 counties.

Fremont County, Colorado

Fremont County Education, Geography, and HistoryFremont County, Colorado Courthouse

Fremont County is one of the 64 counties in the state of Colorado. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 46,824. The county seat is Canon City. Fremont County was created on November 1, 1861 as one of the 17 original counties of the Territory of Colorado. The county is named in honor of John Charles Fr?ont, the explorer, US Army general, and US Senator from California.

Fremont County comprises the Canon City, CO Micropolitan Statistical Area, which is also included in the Pueblo-Canon City, CO Combined Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Fremont County Name

The county is named for explorer and presidential candidate John C. Frémont.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Fremont County History

Fremont county was created as one of the 17 original counties of the Territory of Colorado. Named in honor of John Charles Fremont, the explorer, US Army general, and US Senator from California

The majestic Royal Gorge Canyon has been the focal point of Fremont County history since prehistoric times. For centuries Ute Indians knew its secrets as did later groups of Spanish Conquistadors. Lt. Zebulon Pike explored the canyon in the winter of 1806 by traveling up the frozen Arkansas River. The county is named for famed explorer, Captain John Fremont, who arrived in 1843. When Canon City was incorporated in 1872, it was already a bustling little town, if it was only four blocks long.

The first Colorado Territory prison was built here in 1871, five years before Colorado became a state. Since that early time, Fremont County has been home to a large number of state and federal correction facilities. Natural resource removal has also been important. As early as 1872 oil was selling from the Oil Creek area. Nearby, large coal reserves provided further motivation for the railroads to push a route through the Royal Gorge to reach the silver mines in Leadville. This legacy of rail travel into the depths of the Royal Gorge is still available today.

Fremont County's scenic canyons, hot springs and hospitable climate began attracting film makers as early as 1910 when cowboy star, Tom Mix starred in a silent film produced by the Selig Film Company. Over the years, many films have been made here.

A dark chapter in the area's history began in the 1920's when Canon City resident Rev. Fred Arnold became Grand Dragon of the Ku Klux Klan. The Catholic Church's stunning Holy Cross Abbey is just one example of a project built here to counter the Klan's presence. The Klan eventually passed from the scene leaving Canon City and Fremont County poised to build for the future. That building continues even today as witnessed by the new Pueblo Community College Campus site just west of Canon City.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,534 square miles (3,973 km2), of which, 1,533 square miles (3,970 km2) of it is land and 1 square miles (3 km2) of it (0.07%) is water.

Fremont County lies along the Arkansas River valley in south central Colorado at the foot of the Rocky Mountains.  Beautiful landscapes make Fremont County a tourist attraction in all seasons.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Northeast: Teller County; El Paso County
  • Southeast: Pueblo County
  • South: Custer County
  • Southwest: Saguache County
  • Northwest: Chaffee County; Park County


Colorado Colleges, Universities, & Schools
Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge