Colorado Counties
Colorado County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Colorado Counties

Colorado currently has sixty-four counties. In February 1866, the first new county, Las Animas, was created. Alamosa was created in 1913, and in 2001, Broomfield was recognized as a city-county, bringing a total of 64 counties.

Grand County, Colorado

Grand County Education, Geography, and HistoryGrand County, Colorado Courthouse

Grand County is one of the 64 counties in the state of Colorado. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 14,843. The county seat is Hot Sulphur   Springs. Grand County was created on February 2, 1874 from Summit County. The county is named for the Grand River which originates in the county. The Grand River was renamed the Colorado River in 1921, but the county retains the original name.

Etymology - Origin of Grand County Name

Grand County is named for the Grand River, later renamed the Colorado River, but the county retains the original name.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Grand County History

When Grand County was created February 2, 1874 it was taken out of Summit County and and contained land to the western and northern borders of the state, which is now in present day Moffat County and Routt County. The county is named after Grand Lake and the Grand River, an old name for the Colorado River, which has its headwaters in the county. On January 29, 1877 Routt County was created and Grand County shrunk down to its current western boundary. When valuable minerals were found in North Park, Grand County claimed the area as part of its county, a claim Larimer County also held. It took a decision by the Colorado Supreme Court in 1886 to declare North Park part of Larimer County, setting Grand County's northern boundary.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,870 square miles (4,842 km2), of which, 1,847 square miles (4,783 km2) of it is land and 23 square miles (59 km2) of it (1.23%) is water.

Grand County is located in Northwest Colorado. Tall peaks, the state's largest natural lake and the unchanged beauty of Rocky Mountain National Park, Grand County is typical Colorado.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Northeast: Larimer County
  • East: Boulder County
  • Southeast: Gilpin County; Clear Creek County
  • South: Summit County
  • Southwest: Eagle County
  • Northwest: Routt County; Jackson County


Colorado Colleges, Universities, & Schools
Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge