Colleges Search

Have you begun your college search? Find a college that's right for you. Acess over 8500 Colleges, Universities, and Trade Schools in the US.

Begin Now!

Online Schools

Campus Schools

Colorado Counties
Colorado County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Colorado Counties

Colorado currently has sixty-four counties. The Counties of Colorado are important components of government since the state has no secondary civil subdivisions such as townships. Two counties, the City and County of Denver and the City and County of Broomfield, have consolidated city and county governments.. No organized Counties of the District of Louisiana, the Territory of Missouri, or the Territory of Nebraska existed within the present boundaries of the State of Colorado.
Search & Apply to New Jobs *

Jefferson County, Colorado

Jefferson County Education, Geography, and HistoryJefferson County, Colorado Courthouse

Jefferson County is one of the 64 counties in the state of Colorado. As of the 2010 census, the population was 534,543, making it the fourth-most populous county in Colorado. The county seat is Golden, and the most populous city is Lakewood.

Jefferson County is included in the Denver-Aurora-Lakewood, CO Metropolitan Statistical Area. Located along the Front Range of the Rocky Mountains, Jefferson County is adjacent to the state capital of Denver.

Etymology - Origin ofJefferson County Name

Jefferson County is named for its extralegal predecessor county, Jefferson County, Jefferson Territory, which in turn was named in honor of Thomas Jefferson, the author of the Declaration of Independence and the third President of the United States.


County QuickFacts: Census Bureau Quick Facts

County History

On 1855-08-25, the Kansas Territorial Legislature created Arapahoe County to govern the entire western portion of the Territory of Kansas. The county was named for the Arapaho Nation of Native Americans that lived in the region.

The Jefferson Territory never received federal sanction, but on 1861-02-28, U.S. President James Buchanan signed an act organizing the Territory of Colorado. On 1861-11-01, the Colorado General Assembly organized the 17 original counties of Colorado including a new Jefferson County. In 1908, the southern tip of Jefferson County was transferred to Park County, reducing Jefferson County to its present length of 54 miles (87 kilometers). Several annexations by the City and County of Denver and the 2001 consolidation of the City and County of Broomfield removed eastern portions of the county.


Jefferson County spans 4 to 18 miles (6 to 30 kilometers) west to east and 54 miles (87 kilometers) north to south. According to the US Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 778 square miles (2,015 km2), of which, 772 square miles (2,000 km2) of it is land and 6 square miles (15 km2) of it (0.77%) is water.

Neighboring Counties:

  • North: Boulder County
  • Northeast: Denver city & county; Adams County
  • East: Arapahoe County
  • Southeast: Douglas County
  • South: Teller County
  • Southwest: Park County
  • Northwest: Clear Creek County; Gilpin County


Colorado Colleges, Universities, & Schools
Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Names given the counties, our most locally based jurisdictions, reflects the "characteristic features of this country!"
Hunting for a new job? Get advice or search over 1.6 million jobs on the largest job site
Colleges & Universities
Colleges & Universities: Search or Browse over 8500 Colleges, Universities, and Trade Schools in the US..

Find and Compare!

With access to over 8,500 schools to choose from!

Get Your Degree!

Find schools and get information on the program that’s right for you.

Powered by Campus Explorer

Search Jobs & Employment

Quick Job Search

Enter Keyword(s):

Enter a City:

Select a State:

Select a Category:

-- Advanced Job Search

-- Search by Company

Provides pricing transparency, scholarship information as well as numerous other key details on over 8,500 US colleges, universities and trade schools