Colorado Counties
Colorado County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Colorado Counties

Colorado currently has sixty-four counties. In February 1866, the first new county, Las Animas, was created. Alamosa was created in 1913, and in 2001, Broomfield was recognized as a city-county, bringing a total of 64 counties.

Larimer County, Colorado

Larimer County Education, Geography, and HistoryLarimer County, Colorado Courthouse

Larimer County is one of the 64 counties in the state of Colorado. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 299,630. The county seat and most populous city is Fort Collins. Larimer County was created on November 1, 1861 as one of the 17 original counties of the Territory of Colorado. The county is named for William Larimer, Jr., the founder of Denver.

Larimer County comprises the Fort Collins, CO Metropolitan Statistical Area. The county is located at the northern end of the Front Range, at the edge of the Colorado Eastern Plains along the border with Wyoming.

Etymology - Origin of Larimer County Name

Larimer County is named in honor of William Larimer, a pioneer.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Larimer County History

Larimer County is one of the original Colorado counties. A boundary dispute with Grand County was settled in 1886 by the Colorado Supreme Court. In 1909 the western part of Larimer County (North Park) was split off to form Jackson County.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 2,634 square miles (6,822 km2), of which, 2,601 square miles (6,737 km2) of it is land and 33 square miles (84 km2) of it (1.24%) is water.

Larimer county is located at the northern end of the Colorado Front Range.  Two state protected areas in Larimer county are Boyd Lake State Park and Lory State Park.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Albany County, Wyo.
  • Northeast: Laramie County, Wyo.
  • East: Weld County
  • South: Boulder County
  • Southwest: Grand County
  • West: Jackson County


Park R3 (Estes Park)
Poudre R1 (Fort Collins & Surrounding Area)
Thompson R2-J (Berthoud & Loveland)
Fort Collins is home to Colorado State University.

Colorado Colleges, Universities, & Schools
Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge