Colorado Counties
Colorado County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Colorado Counties

Colorado currently has sixty-four counties. In February 1866, the first new county, Las Animas, was created. Alamosa was created in 1913, and in 2001, Broomfield was recognized as a city-county, bringing a total of 64 counties.

Lincoln County, Colorado

Lincoln County Education, Geography, and HistoryLincoln County, Colorado Courthouse

Lincoln County is the tenth most extensive of the 64 counties of the State of Colorado of the United States. The county population was 6,087 at US Census 2000. The county seat is Hugo. Lincoln County was created on April 4, 1889 from Elbert County and Bent County. The county is named in honor of Abraham Lincoln, the sixteenth President of the United States.

Etymology - Origin of Lincoln County Name

Lincoln County is named in honor of Abraham Lincoln, the sixteenth President of the United States.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Lincoln County History

Lincoln County was created in 1889 from parts of Elbert and Bent Counties.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 2,586 square miles (6,699 km2), of which, 2,586 square miles (6,698 km2) of it is land and 0 square miles (1 km2) of it (0.01%) is water.

The main watersheds include the Arikaree and Republican Rivers in the northern part of the county and the Big Sandy, Rush, and Horse Creeks in the southern part of the county. Big Sandy and Rush Creeks ultimately drain into the Arkansas River.

The land is a rolling prairie with several river valleys and sand hills. Lincoln County geographically is part of the high plains portion of the Colorado Piedmont, and as such the terrain is quite flat and ranges in elevation from 4,500 feet in the southeast to approximately 5,400 feet in the northwest.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Northeast: Washington County; Kit Carson County
  • East: Cheyenne County
  • Southeast: Kiowa County
  • Southwest: Crowley County; Pueblo County
  • West: El Paso County
  • Northwest: Elbert County; Arapahoe County


Colorado Colleges, Universities, & Schools
Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge