Colorado Counties
Colorado County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Colorado Counties

Colorado currently has sixty-four counties. In February 1866, the first new county, Las Animas, was created. Alamosa was created in 1913, and in 2001, Broomfield was recognized as a city-county, bringing a total of 64 counties.

Logan County, Colorado

Logan County Education, Geography, and HistoryLogan County, Colorado Courthouse

Logan County is one of the 64 counties in the state of Colorado. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 22,709.[ The county seat is Sterling. Logan County was established on February 25, 1887 from Weld County. The county is named for General John A. Logan.

Logan County comprises the Sterling, CO Micropolitan Statistical Area

Etymology - Origin of Logan County Name

Logan County is named in honor of John Alexander Logan, a general in the American Civil War and United States Senator.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Logan County History

Logan County was created in 1887 from part of Weld County. In 1889 the eastern part was split off to form Phillips and Sedgwick Counties.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,845 square miles (4,778 km2), of which, 1,839 square miles (4,762 km2) of it is land and 6 square miles (16 km2) of it (0.34%) is water.

Logan county is located in the northeast corner of Colorado. The American Discovery Trail, Pawnee Pioneer Trails and South Platte Trail are located in Logan county.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Cheyenne County, Neb.
  • Northeast: Sedgwick County
  • East: Phillips County
  • Southeast: Yuma County
  • South: Washington County
  • Southwest: Morgan County
  • West: Weld County
  • Northwest: Kimball County, Neb.


Colorado Colleges, Universities, & Schools
Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge