Colorado Counties
Colorado County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Colorado Counties

Colorado currently has sixty-four counties. In February 1866, the first new county, Las Animas, was created. Alamosa was created in 1913, and in 2001, Broomfield was recognized as a city-county, bringing a total of 64 counties.

Mineral County, Colorado

Mineral County Education, Geography, and HistoryMineral County, Colorado Courthouse

Mineral County is one of the 64 counties in the state of Colorado. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 712, making it the second-least populous county in Colorado. The county seat and only incorporated municipality in the county is Creede. Mineral County was created on March 27, 1893 from Hinsdale County, Rio Grande County and Saguache County. The county is named for the many valuable minerals found in the mountains and streams of the area.

Etymology - Origin of Mineral County Name

Mineral County is named from the significant mineral deposits found within the county.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Mineral County History

Mineral County was created in 1893 from parts of Hinsdale, Rio Grande, and Saguache Counties.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 878 square miles (2,273 km2), of which, 876 square miles (2,268 km2) of it is land and 2 square miles (5 km2) of it (0.23%) is water.

Mineral County is located in the Rocky Mountains of Southern Colorado. Featuring 95% public lands. Creede, the county seat is located in Southwest Colorado at the headwaters of the Rio Grande River.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Northeast: Saguache County
  • East: Rio Grande County
  • South: Archuleta County
  • Northwest: Hinsdale County


Colorado Colleges, Universities, & Schools
Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge