Colorado Counties
Colorado County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Colorado Counties

Colorado currently has sixty-four counties. In February 1866, the first new county, Las Animas, was created. Alamosa was created in 1913, and in 2001, Broomfield was recognized as a city-county, bringing a total of 64 counties.

Montrose County, Colorado

Montrose County Education, Geography, and HistoryMontrose County, Colorado Courthouse

Montrose County is one of the 64 counties of the state of Colorado. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 41,276. The county seat is Montrose. Montrose County was created on February 11, 1883 from Gunnison County. The county is named for the city of Montrose.

Montrose County comprises the Montrose, CO Micropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Montrose County Name

Montrose County is named for the City of Montrose, which in turn was named probably from the novel A Legend of Montrose, published in 1819 by Sir Walter Scott.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Montrose County History

Montrose County was created in 1883 from part of Gunnison County.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 2,243 square miles (5,808 km2), of which, 2,241 square miles (5,803 km2) of it is land and 2 square miles (5 km2) of it (0.09%) is water.

Montrose county is located in west Colorado. The Great Parks Bicycle Route, Unaweep/Tabeguache Scenic and Historic Byway, West Elk Loop Scenic Byway and Western Express Bicycle Route are located in Montrose county.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Northeast: Delta County; Gunnison County
  • Southeast: Ouray County
  • Southwest: San Miguel County; San Juan County, Utah
  • Northwest: Grand County, Utah; Mesa County


Colorado Colleges, Universities, & Schools
Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge