Colorado Counties
Colorado County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Colorado Counties

Colorado currently has sixty-four counties. In February 1866, the first new county, Las Animas, was created. Alamosa was created in 1913, and in 2001, Broomfield was recognized as a city-county, bringing a total of 64 counties.

Morgan County, Colorado

Morgan County Education, Geography, and HistoryMorgan County, Colorado Courthouse

Morgan County is one of the 64 counties of the state of Colorado. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 28,159. The county seat is Fort Morgan. Morgan County was created on February 19, 1889 from Weld County. The county is named after old Fort Morgan, which in turn was named in honor of Colonel Christopher A. Morgan.

Morgan County comprises the Fort Morgan, CO Micropolitan Statistical Area

Etymology - Origin of Morgan County Name

Morgan County is named for Fort Morgan, located in the present-day county.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Morgan County History

Morgan county was created in 1889 from part of Weld County.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,294 square miles (3,351 km2), of which, 1,285 square miles (3,329 km2) of it is land and 9 square miles (22 km2) of it (0.66%) is water.

Morgan county is located in northeast Colorado. The county is mainly a rural area located on the high plains.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Northeast: Logan County
  • Southeast: Washington County
  • Southwest: Adams County
  • Northwest: Weld County


Colorado Colleges, Universities, & Schools
Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.


County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge