Colorado Counties
Colorado County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Colorado Counties

Colorado currently has sixty-four counties. In February 1866, the first new county, Las Animas, was created. Alamosa was created in 1913, and in 2001, Broomfield was recognized as a city-county, bringing a total of 64 counties.

Ouray County, Colorado

Ouray County Education, Geography, and HistoryOuray County, Colorado Courthouse

Ouray County is one of the 64 counties of the state of Colorado. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 4,436. The county seat is Ouray. Ouray County was establish created on January 18, 1877 from Hinsdale County and Lake County. The county is named in honor of Ouray, a Ute Native American leader.

Etymology - Origin of Ouray County Name

Ouray County is named in honor of Ouray, a Ute Native American leader.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Ouray County History

Ouray County was created in 1877 from part of San Juan with a small piece of Hinsdale added. In 1881 the southern portion was split off to form Dolores County. The western part became San Miguel County in 1883 and Ouray County was briefly renamed Uncompahgre County.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 542 square miles (1,404 km2), of which, 540 square miles (1,400 km2) of it is land and 2 square miles (5 km2) of it (0.32%) is water.

Ouray county is located in southwest Colorado. Because of its rugged mountain topography, Ouray County is also known as the Switzerland of America.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Northeast: Gunnison County
  • Southeast: Hinsdale County
  • South: San Juan County
  • Southwest: San Miguel County
  • Northwest: Montrose County


Colorado Colleges, Universities, & Schools
Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge