Colorado Counties
Colorado County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Colorado Counties

Colorado currently has sixty-four counties. In February 1866, the first new county, Las Animas, was created. Alamosa was created in 1913, and in 2001, Broomfield was recognized as a city-county, bringing a total of 64 counties.

Phillips County, Colorado

Phillips County Education, Geography, and HistoryPhillips County, Colorado Courthouse

Phillips County is one of the 64 counties in the state of Colorado. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 4,442. The county seat is Holyoke. Phillips County was created on March 27, 1889 and was divided from Logan County. The county is named in honor of R.O. Phillips, a secretary of the Lincoln Land Company, who organized several towns in Colorado.

Etymology - Origin of Phillips County Name

Phillips County is named in honor of R.O. Phillips, secretary of the Lincoln Land Company.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Phillips County History

Phillips County was created in 1889 from part of Logan County.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 688 square miles (1,781 km2), of which, 688 square miles (1,781 km2) of it is land and 0 square miles (0 km2) of it (0.02%) is water.

Phillips county is located in northeast Colorado. Phillips county has 687.93 square miles of land area and 0.12 square miles of water area. Phillips County is made up of the  Colorado prairie, among the rolling sandhills covered with buffalo grass.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Sedgwick County
  • Northeast: Perkins County, Neb.
  • East: Chase County, Neb.
  • South: Yuma County
  • West: Logan County


Colorado Colleges, Universities, & Schools
Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge