Colorado Counties
Colorado County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Colorado Counties

Colorado currently has sixty-four counties. In February 1866, the first new county, Las Animas, was created. Alamosa was created in 1913, and in 2001, Broomfield was recognized as a city-county, bringing a total of 64 counties.

San Miguel County, Colorado

San Miguel County Education, Geography, and HistorySan Miguel County, Colorado Courthouse

San Miguel County is one of the 64 counties of the state of Colorado. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 7,359. The county seat is Telluride. San Miguel County was created on March 3, 1883 from San Juan County. The county is named for the San Miguel River.

Etymology - Origin of San Miguel County Name

San Miguel County is named for the San Miguel River.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

San Miguel County History

San Miguel County was given the Spanish language name for "Saint Michael" due to the nearby San Miguel River. On 27 February 1883 Ouray County was split to form San Miguel County. Originally the San Miguel County portion was to retain the name Ouray County with the new portion called Uncompahgre County.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,288 square miles (3,337 km2), of which, 1,286 square miles (3,332 km2) of it is land and 2 square miles (5 km2) of it (0.15%) is water.

The Great Parks Bicycle Route, San Juan Skyway National Scenic Byway, Unaweep/Tabeguache Scenic and Historic Byway, Western Express Bicycle Route are located in San Miguel county.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Northeast: Montrose County; Ouray County
  • Southeast: San Juan County
  • Southwest: Dolores County; San Juan County, Utah


Colorado Colleges, Universities, & Schools
Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge