Colorado Counties
Colorado County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Colorado Counties

Colorado currently has sixty-four counties. In February 1866, the first new county, Las Animas, was created. Alamosa was created in 1913, and in 2001, Broomfield was recognized as a city-county, bringing a total of 64 counties.

Sedgwick County, Colorado

Sedgwick County Education, Geography, and HistorySedgwick County, Colorado Courthouse

Sedgwick County is the northeastern most of the 64 counties in the state of Colorado. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 2,379. The county seat is Julesburg. Sedgwick County was created on April 9, 1889 from Logan County. The county is named for Fort Sedgwick, a military post along the Platte Trail, which was named for General John Sedgwick.

Etymology - Origin of Sedgwick County Name

Sedgwick County is named for Fort Sedgwick, which, in turn, was named for US Army General John Sedgwick.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Sedgwick County History

Sedgwick County was created in 1889 from part of Logan County.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 550 square miles (1,423 km2), of which, 548 square miles (1,420 km2) of it is land and 1 square miles (4 km2) of it (0.25%) is water.

Sedgwick county is located in northeast Colorado. The American Discovery Trail, First Transcontinental Railroad, Pony Express National Historic Trail, South Platte River Trail, Scenic and Historic Byway, and South Platte Trail are located in Sedgwick county.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Deuel County, Neb.
  • Northeast: Keith County, Neb.
  • East: Perkins County, Neb.
  • South: Phillips County
  • Southwest: Logan County
  • Northwest: Cheyenne County, Neb.


Colorado Colleges, Universities, & Schools
Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge