Colorado Counties
Colorado County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Colorado Counties

Colorado currently has sixty-four counties. In February 1866, the first new county, Las Animas, was created. Alamosa was created in 1913, and in 2001, Broomfield was recognized as a city-county, bringing a total of 64 counties.

Summit County, Colorado

Summit County Education, Geography, and HistorySummit County, Colorado Courthouse

Summit County is the 19th most populous of the 64 counties of the State of Colorado of the United States. The county population was 25,399 at US Census 2000. The county seat is Breckenridge. Summit County was created on November 1, 1861 as one of the 17 original counties of the Territory of Colorado. The county is named after the many high mountain summits in the area.

The Silverthorne Micropolitan Statistical Area comprises Summit County

Etymology - Origin of Summit County Name

The county is named for the many mountain summits in the county.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Summit County History

Summit County was organized as one of the seventeen original Colorado counties by the First Territorial Legislature on November 1, 1861. The county is named for the many mountain summits in the county. Until February 2, 1874, its boundaries included the area now comprising Summit County, Grand County, Routt County, Moffat County, Garfield County, Eagle County, and Rio Blanco County.

In 1874, the northern half of the original Summit County was split off to form Grand County; with the creation of Garfield and Eagle counties in 1883, Summit County arrived at its present boundaries.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 619 square miles (1,604 km2), of which, 608 square miles (1,575 km2) of it is land and 11 square miles (29 km2) of it (1.79%) is water.

Summit county is located close to the center of Colorado. The American Discovery Trail, Colorado Trail, Continental Divide, National Scenic Trail, Great Parks Bicycle Route, Top of the Rockies National Scenic Byway, TransAmerica Trail Bicycle Route, Vail Pass National Recreation Trail, and Wheeler Ten Mile National Recreation Trail.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Grand County
  • East: Clear Creek County
  • Southeast: Park County
  • Southwest: Lake County
  • West: Eagle County


Colorado Colleges, Universities, & Schools
Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge