Find the Right School

Find a College

Begin Now!

Online College Articles
Campus College Articles
Georgia Counties
Georgia County map
Click Image to Enlarge
Georgia Counties
Georgia is divided into 159 counties. Under the Georgia Constitution, Counties are granted home rule to deal with issues that are local in nature. Four consolidated city-Counties — Athens (Clarke County), Augusta (Richmond County), Columbus (Muscogee County), and Cusseta (Chattahoochee County) — exist.

Georgia has the second-highest number of Counties of any state in the United States, behind Texas (254). A few Georgia Counties have changed names over time. Jasper County was originally known as Randolph County. Later, the current Randolph County came into being. Webster County was once known as Kinchafoonee County, and Bartow County was formerly known as Cass County.

Atkinson County, Georgia

Atkinson County History, Geography, and Demographics

County Seat: Pearson
Year Organized: 1919
Square Miles: 338
Court House:

P.O. Box 518
County Courthouse
Pearson, GA 31642-0518

Etymology - Origin of County Name

The county is named for William Yates Atkinson, who served as Governor and Speaker of the Georgia House of Representatives.


County QuickFacts: Census Bureau Quick Facts

County History

The county is named for William Yates Atkinson, who served as Governor and Speaker of the Georgia House of Representatives.

Willacoochee is home to McCraine's Turpentine Still, a preserved wood-burning turpentine still of 19th-century design that operated from 1936 to 1942.

Atkinson County, created from Clinch and Coffee counties, has a county courthouse that was constructed in 1921.

Pearson, was named to honor Benjah Pearson who served in the Indian War of 1838.

Points of Interest

The Minnie F. Corbitt Memorial Museum was established in 1955 in the first residence built in Pearson (1873). It is dedicated to the memory of South Georgia pioneers and their way of life.

The city of Willacoochee is home of the "No Name Bar," fondly referred to by the late Lewis Grizzard in many of his columns.

Throughout the 1960s and 1970s, Pearson was known as the "Chess Capital" of the state. The town hosted four consecutive championships, and Pearson residents made up one-fourth of the membership of the Georgia Chess Association.

Neighboring Counties:

  • North: Coffee County
  • Southeast: Ware County; Clinch County
  • Southwest: Lanier County
  • West: Berrien County

Cities and Towns:

- Pearson (County Seat) city Incorporated Area
- Willacoochee city Incorporated Area

County Resources:

Additional County Info

County Resources
Counties: US Map
The history of our nation was a prolonged struggle to define the relative roles and powers of our governments: federal, state, and local. And the names given the counties, our most locally based jurisdictions, reflects the "characteristic features of this country!"