Career College Search

Online Schools

Campus Schools

Georgia Counties
Georgia County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Georgia Counties

Georgia is divided into one hundred and fifty-nine counties. The original eight counties of the State of Georgia were Burke, Camden, Chatham, Effingham, Glynn, Liberty, Richmond and Wilkes all created on February 5, 1777. The last new county to be established in Georgia was Peach County, established in 1924.

Banks County, Georgia

Banks County Education, Geography, and HistoryBanks County, Georgia Courthouse

Banks County is a county located in the state of Georgia. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 18,395.  Banks County was created on December 11, 1858 from Franklin County and Habersham County.  The county seat is Homer. The county is named in honor of Dr. Richard Banks (1784-1850), a local physician noted for treating natives with smallpox.

Etymology - Origin of Banks County Name

The county is named for Dr. Richard E. Banks, a circuit-riding physician who treated the settlers and Native Americans of northern Georgia and South Carolina.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Banks County History

Banks County was created in 1858 from parts of Franklin and Habersham counties. The county is named for Dr. Richard E. Banks, a circuit-riding physician who treated the settlers and Native Americans of northern Georgia and South Carolina.

The first county courthouse was completed in 1863. It was constructed of hand-made bricks in the Greek Revival style. It is on the National Register of Historical Places and now serves as a museum and office space.

Homer, the county's only municipality, was incorporated in 1859 and was named after Homer Jackson, a prominent settler.

Points of Interest

The northern boundary of Banks County is the Chattahoochee National Forest and much of the county is woodlands.

Banks County is the home of the World's Largest Easter Egg Hunt (according to the Guinness Book of World Records ) hosted by Garrison Farms.

Notable Citizens

Although Royston, in Franklin County, was Ty Cobb's birthplace, Banks County also lays claim to having the famous ballplayer as a resident. In 1936, Ty Cobb became the first baseball player inducted into the Baseball Hall of Fame.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 234 square miles (610 km2), of which 232 square miles (600 km2) is land and 1.8 square miles (4.7 km2) (0.8%) is water.

 Banks county is located in north Georgia. Banks County is entirely located in the Broad River sub-basin of the Savannah River basin.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Habersham County
  • Northeast: Stephens County
  • East: Franklin County
  • Southeast: Madison County
  • South: Jackson County
  • West: Hall County


Banks County Middle School BCES BCHS BCPS

Georgia Colleges, Universities, & Schools
Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge
Colleges & Universities
Colleges & Universities: Search or Browse over 8500 Colleges, Universities, and Trade Schools in the US..
Provides pricing transparency, scholarship information as well as numerous other key details on over 8,500 US colleges, universities and trade schools

Get Your Degree!

Find schools and get information on the program that’s right for you.

Powered by Campus Explorer