Find the Right School

Find a College

Begin Now!

Online Colleges
Campus Colleges
Georgia Counties
Georgia County map
Click Image to Enlarge
Georgia Counties
Georgia is divided into 159 counties. Under the Georgia Constitution, Counties are granted home rule to deal with issues that are local in nature. Four consolidated city-Counties — Athens (Clarke County), Augusta (Richmond County), Columbus (Muscogee County), and Cusseta (Chattahoochee County) — exist.

Georgia has the second-highest number of Counties of any state in the United States, behind Texas (254). A few Georgia Counties have changed names over time. Jasper County was originally known as Randolph County. Later, the current Randolph County came into being. Webster County was once known as Kinchafoonee County, and Bartow County was formerly known as Cass County.

Ben Hill County, Georgia

Ben Hill County History, Geography, and Demographics

County Seat: Fitzgerald
Year Organized: 1906
Square Miles: 252
Court House:

402-A East Pine Street
County Courthouse
Fitzgerald, GA 31750

Etymology - Origin of County Name

Named for Benjamin Harvey Hill, US Senator from Georgia, a Whig leader, and a staunch opponent of Reconstruction.


County QuickFacts: Census Bureau Quick Facts

County History

Ben Hill County was created in 1906, from Irwin and Wilcox counties, and was named for Benjamin Harvey Hill, US Senator from Georgia, a Whig leader, and a staunch opponent of Reconstruction.

The Historic District on South Lee and South Main streets in Fitzgerald is listed on the National Register. The old railroad depot is now home to the Blue/Gray Museum.

The county has only one incorporated city, Fitzgerald, which was founded by former Union soldiers on a 50,000 acre tract owned by the non-profit American Tribune Soldiers Colony Company. The citizens of Fitzgerald, pledging unity with their former enemies, named streets after leaders of both armies. The early concentration of population in the city aided the county's industrial development. The colony also founded the first public school in Georgia to offer free books and tuition.

Points of Interest

Fitzgerald and Ben Hill County maintain nine recreational parks and one river access park at the Ocmulgee River. These facilities offer playgrounds, team sports, natural areas, meeting and concert shelters, and public boat ramps.

Neighboring Counties:

  • Northeast: Telfair County
  • Southeast: Coffee County
  • Southwest: Irwin County
  • West: Turner County
  • Northwest: Wilcox County

Cities and Towns:

- Fitzgerald (County Seat) city Incorporated Area

County Resources:


Additional County Info

County Resources
Counties: US Map
The history of our nation was a prolonged struggle to define the relative roles and powers of our governments: federal, state, and local. And the names given the counties, our most locally based jurisdictions, reflects the "characteristic features of this country!"