Career College Search

Online Schools

Campus Schools

Georgia Counties
Georgia County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Georgia Counties

Georgia is divided into one hundred and fifty-nine counties. The original eight counties of the State of Georgia were Burke, Camden, Chatham, Effingham, Glynn, Liberty, Richmond and Wilkes all created on February 5, 1777. The last new county to be established in Georgia was Peach County, established in 1924.

Brantley County, Georgia

Brantley County Education, Geography, and HistoryBrantley County, Georgia Courthouse

Brantley County is a county located in the state of Georgia. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 18,411. Brantley County was created on August 14, 1920 from Charlton, Pierce and Wayne counties. The county seat is Nahunta. The county is named in honor of William Gordon Brantley (1860-1934), US Congressman.  

Brantley County is part of the Brunswick, GA Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Brantley County Name

The county is named for Benjamin D. Brantley, a member of a prominent local family, although some historians claim the name honored State Senator William Goodman Brantley of Brunswick.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Brantley County History

The county was formed in 1920 from Charlton, Pierce, and Wayne counties and was named for Benjamin D. Brantley, a member of a prominent local family, although some historians claim the name honored State Senator William Goodman Brantley of Brunswick.

Since the Okefenokee Swamp is to the south and west of the county, passage through Brantley County was essential to the railroads running from the coast through the southern part of the state.

Fort McIntosh was built in the early years of the Revolutionary War to protect the extensive herds of cattle. It was placed under siege from Tories in 1777 and eventually surrendered.

Fort Mudge was built in the county at about the same time. This fort was immortalized by Walt Kelly in the "Pogo" comic strip.

Nahunta sounds as if it has an Indian name, but in fact the name is a colloquialism derived from railroad maps and a sign, "N.A. Hunter Siding."

Points of Interest

The 35,789-acre Dixon Memorial State Forest, shared by Brantley and Ware counties, is administered by the Georgia Forestry Commission.

Brantley County residents also have access to the Harrington Tract Wildlife Management Area (shared with Glynn County) and the Rayonier Wildlife Management Area (shared with Wayne County).

The scenic Satilla River winds its way through Brantley County, providing opportunities for boating, fishing and camping.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 447 square miles (1,160 km2), of which 442 square miles (1,140 km2) is land and 4.8 square miles (12 km2) (1.1%) is water.

 Brantley county is located in southeast Georgia. The Satilla River runs through Brantley County. Brantley is in the Satilla River basin.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Wayne County
  • East: Glynn County
  • Southeast: Camden County
  • Southwest: Charlton County; Ware County
  • Northwest: Pierce County


Georgia Colleges, Universities, & Schools
Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge
Colleges & Universities
Colleges & Universities: Search or Browse over 8500 Colleges, Universities, and Trade Schools in the US..
Provides pricing transparency, scholarship information as well as numerous other key details on over 8,500 US colleges, universities and trade schools