Georgia Counties
Georgia County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Georgia Counties

Georgia is divided into one hundred and fifty-nine counties. The original eight counties of the State of Georgia were Burke, Camden, Chatham, Effingham, Glynn, Liberty, Richmond and Wilkes all created on February 5, 1777. The last new county to be established in Georgia was Peach County, established in 1924.

Camden County, Georgia

Camden County Education, Geography, and HistoryCamden County, Georgia Courthouse

Camden County is a county located in the southeastern corner of the state of Georgia. According to the 2010 Census, the population was 50,513. Camden county is one of the original counties of Georgia, created February 5, 1777.  The county seat is Woodbine, and the largest city is St. Marys. The county is named in honor of Sir Charles Pratt, 1st Earl Camden (1714 - 94), Lord Chancellor of Great Britain who was sympathetic to the cause of the Revolution.

Camden County comprises the St. Marys, GA Micropolitan Statistical Area, which is included in the Jacksonville-St. Marys-Palatka, FL-GA Combined Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Camden County Name

named after Charles Pratt, Earl of Camden. Pratt was an outspoken proponent of home rule for the colonies when he was the Lord Chancellor of England.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Camden County History

The county dates back to 1777 as a political entity, and was named after Charles Pratt, Earl of Camden. Pratt was an outspoken proponent of home rule for the colonies when he was the Lord Chancellor of England.

Camden County was the second county organized in Georgia.

Cumberland Island is the site of the ruins of Dungeness, the mansion of the family of Andrew Carnegie. Dungeness was built in the 1880s.

Points of Interest

The county includes unspoiled Cumberland Island. Largely owned by the US Department of the Interior, the island is accessible only by boat or plane. Nevertheless, Cumberland Island has almost 40,000 visitors annually.

Camden County is the site of the Kings Bay Submarine Base, home of the Trident Nuclear Submarine. Employment associated with construction of the base made Camden County the fastest growing county in the state in the 1980s.

Camden County is located 30 miles north of Jacksonville, Florida at the Interstate Corridor.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 782 square miles (2,030 km2), of which 613 square miles (1,590 km2) is land and 169 square miles (440 km2) (21.6%) is water. Camden is in the Satilla River basin and the St. Marys basin.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Glynn County
  • East: North Atlantic Ocean
  • South: Nassau County, Fla.
  • West: Charlton County
  • Northwest: Brantley County


Georgia Colleges, Universities, & Schools
Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge