Find the Right School

Find a College

Begin Now!

Online Colleges
Campus Colleges
Georgia Counties
Georgia County map
Click Image to Enlarge
Georgia Counties
Georgia is divided into 159 counties. Under the Georgia Constitution, Counties are granted home rule to deal with issues that are local in nature. Four consolidated city-Counties — Athens (Clarke County), Augusta (Richmond County), Columbus (Muscogee County), and Cusseta (Chattahoochee County) — exist.

Georgia has the second-highest number of Counties of any state in the United States, behind Texas (254). A few Georgia Counties have changed names over time. Jasper County was originally known as Randolph County. Later, the current Randolph County came into being. Webster County was once known as Kinchafoonee County, and Bartow County was formerly known as Cass County.

Clayton County, Georgia

Clayton County History, Geography, and Demographics

County Seat: Jonesboro
Year Organized: 1858
Square Miles: 143
Court House:

9151 Tara Boulevard
Harold R. Banke Justice Center
Jonesboro, GA 30236-4912

Etymology - Origin of County Name

Named for Judge Augustin S. Clayton, who held the county's first sessions of the superior court and later served in both the Georgia House of Representatives and Senate.


County QuickFacts: Census Bureau Quick Facts

County History

Clayton County was formed in 1858 from parts of Fayette and Henry counties. Georgia's 125th county was named for Judge Augustin S. Clayton, who held the county's first sessions of the superior court and later served in both the Georgia House of Representatives and Senate.

Jonesboro, the county seat, was originally called Leaksville. When the Central Railroad line reached the town, the name was changed to honor Captain Samuel G. Jones, one of the line's surveying engineers.

The Battle of Jonesboro marked the end of the Atlanta Campaign during the Civil War. When Federal troops seized control of the railroad in Jonesboro, all supplies to Atlanta were cut off.

Points of Interest

Hartsfield International Airport, ranked as the world's fourth busiest, is in Clayton County. It is now home to the largest International Concourse in the country. With a job base of 38,000, the airport is the largest employment center in the state.

The Clayton County Water Authority maintains one of the most innovative and successful wastewater treatment systems in the world. Visitors from all over the world come to tour the Clayton County water facilities to learn more about the county's Land Application System. The county uses a natural land application process to purify wastewater while fertilizing acres of forest and producing a marketable pelletized fertilizer.

Higher Education

Clayton College and State University

Neighboring Counties:

  • Northeast: DeKalb County
  • Southeast: Henry County
  • South: Spalding County
  • Southwest: Fayette County
  • Northwest: Fulton County

Cities and Towns:

- Forest Park city Incorporated Area
- Jonesboro (County Seat) city Incorporated Area
- Lake City city Incorporated Area
- Lovejoy city Incorporated Area
- Morrow city Incorporated Area
- Riverdale city Incorporated Area

County Resources:


Additional County Info

County Resources
Counties: US Map
The history of our nation was a prolonged struggle to define the relative roles and powers of our governments: federal, state, and local. And the names given the counties, our most locally based jurisdictions, reflects the "characteristic features of this country!"