Career College Search

Online Schools

Campus Schools

Georgia Counties
Georgia County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Georgia Counties

Georgia is divided into one hundred and fifty-nine counties. The original eight counties of the State of Georgia were Burke, Camden, Chatham, Effingham, Glynn, Liberty, Richmond and Wilkes all created on February 5, 1777. The last new county to be established in Georgia was Peach County, established in 1924.

Effingham County, Georgia

Effingham County Education, Geography, and HistoryEffingham County, Georgia Courthouse

Effingham County is a county located in the state of Georgia. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 52,250. Effingham County was created on February 5, 1777 from St Mathew and St Philip Parishes. The county seat is Springfield. The county is named in honor of Thomas Howard, the Third Earl of Effingham (1746-1791), who was sympathetic with the independence movement.

Effingham County is included in the Savannah, GA Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Effingham County Name

The county is named for Lord Effingham, an English nobleman who was a colonial rights advocate and who refused to take up arms against the revolutionaries.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Effingham County History

Effingham County was created in 1777 from the colonial parishes of St. Matthew and St. Philip. Georgia's 4th county was named for Lord Effingham, an English nobleman who was a colonial rights advocate and who refused to take up arms against the revolutionaries.

Effingham County is one of the oldest settlement areas in America. The Lutheran Salzburg community established in 1734 at Ebenezer (German for "Stone of Help"), was the second settlement in Georgia.

Points of Interest

There are several buildings and sites on the National Register of Historic Places in the county. These include the Effingham County Courthouse, the New Hope AME Church, the Guyton-Whitesville Historic District, the Jerusalem Church, and the New Ebenezer Town site.

A length of the 314-mile long Savannah River forms Effingham County's eastern border, separating it from South Carolina.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 483 square miles (1,250 km2), of which 478 square miles (1,240 km2) is land and 5.2 square miles (13 km2) (1.1%) is water.

 Effingham county is located in east Georgia. The county is in the Savannah River basin and the Ogeechee River basin.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Northeast: Hampton County, S.C.
  • East: Jasper County, S.C.
  • Southeast: Chatham County
  • South: Bryan County
  • West: Bulloch County
  • Northwest: Screven County


Georgia Colleges, Universities, & Schools
Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge
Colleges & Universities
Colleges & Universities: Search or Browse over 8500 Colleges, Universities, and Trade Schools in the US..
Provides pricing transparency, scholarship information as well as numerous other key details on over 8,500 US colleges, universities and trade schools