Find the Right School

Find a College

Begin Now!

Online Colleges
Campus Colleges
Georgia Counties
Georgia County map
Click Image to Enlarge
Georgia Counties
Georgia is divided into 159 counties. Under the Georgia Constitution, Counties are granted home rule to deal with issues that are local in nature. Four consolidated city-Counties — Athens (Clarke County), Augusta (Richmond County), Columbus (Muscogee County), and Cusseta (Chattahoochee County) — exist.

Georgia has the second-highest number of Counties of any state in the United States, behind Texas (254). A few Georgia Counties have changed names over time. Jasper County was originally known as Randolph County. Later, the current Randolph County came into being. Webster County was once known as Kinchafoonee County, and Bartow County was formerly known as Cass County.

Franklin County, Georgia

Franklin County History, Geography, and Demographics

County Seat: Carnesville
Year Organized: 1784
Square Miles: 263
Court House:

P.O. Box 159
County Courthouse
Carnesville, GA 30521-0159

Etymology - Origin of County Name

Georgia's 9th county was named in honor of Benjamin Franklin.


County QuickFacts: Census Bureau Quick Facts

County History

Franklin County was created in 1784 and originally encompassed all of what would become Banks, Barrow, Clarke, Jackson, Oconee, and Stephens counties, and parts of Gwinnett, Hall, Hart, and Madison counties, as well as three counties in South Carolina. Georgia's 9th county was named in honor of Benjamin Franklin.

Carnesville, the county seat, was named for Judge Thomas Peter Carnes, a lawyer and Congressman of the Revolutionary War era.

Places of historic note in the county include Cromers Mill Covered Bridge, built in 1906, and the Lavonia Carnegie Library, established in 1911 with a grant from Andrew Carnegie. Lavonia is the smallest city in the US with an original Carnegie Library Building.

Points of Interest

Lake Hartwell, Georgia's largest Army Corp of Engineers lake east of the Mississippi was formed by the impoundment of the Savannah River at Hartwell Dam. T he lake's 55,950 acres have 962 miles of shoreline.

Franklin County leads the state in poultry production and the Franklin County Livestock Market is the state's largest.

Two state parks are in Franklin County. The 406-acre Victoria Bryant State Park, near Royston, features a nine hole golf course, as well as facilities for camping, swimming and hiking. Tugaloo State Park, on a 393-acre peninsula on Lake Hartwell, offers outdoor enthusiasts excellent opportunities for fishing and camping.

Notable Citizens

The county's most famous resident, baseball legend Ty Cobb, lived in Royston. Cobb donated $100,000 to establish the Ty Cobb Healthcare System which continues to provide healthcare services to area residents. A memorial to Cobb is located at the Royston City Hall. Other notable individuals from the county include former Georgia Governor Ernest Vandiver and D.W. Brooks, founder and chairman of Goldkist, Inc.

Higher Education

Emanuel College

Neighboring Counties:

  • Northeast: Oconee County, S.C.
  • East: Hart County
  • South: Madison County
  • West: Banks County
  • Northwest: Stephens County

Cities and Towns:

- Canon city Incorporated Area
- Carnesville (County Seat) city Incorporated Area
- Franklin Springs city Incorporated Area
- Lavonia city Incorporated Area
- Royston city Incorporated Area

County Resources:

Chamber of Commerce

Additional County Info

County Resources
Counties: US Map
The history of our nation was a prolonged struggle to define the relative roles and powers of our governments: federal, state, and local. And the names given the counties, our most locally based jurisdictions, reflects the "characteristic features of this country!"