Find the Right School

Find a College

Begin Now!

Online Colleges
Campus Colleges
Georgia Counties
Georgia County map
Click Image to Enlarge
Georgia Counties
Georgia is divided into 159 counties. Under the Georgia Constitution, Counties are granted home rule to deal with issues that are local in nature. Four consolidated city-Counties — Athens (Clarke County), Augusta (Richmond County), Columbus (Muscogee County), and Cusseta (Chattahoochee County) — exist.

Georgia has the second-highest number of Counties of any state in the United States, behind Texas (254). A few Georgia Counties have changed names over time. Jasper County was originally known as Randolph County. Later, the current Randolph County came into being. Webster County was once known as Kinchafoonee County, and Bartow County was formerly known as Cass County.

Laurens County, Georgia

Laurens County History, Geography, and Demographics

County Seat: Dublin
Year Organized: 1807
Square Miles: 813
Court House:

P.O. Box 2011
County Courthouse
Dublin, GA 31040-2011

Etymology - Origin of County Name

Named in honor of Colonel John Laurens, an aide-de-camp to General George Washington.


County QuickFacts: Census Bureau Quick Facts

County History

Taken from Wilkinson County in 1807 and absorbing part of Washington County in 1811, Laurens County was named in honor of Colonel John Laurens, an aide-de-camp to General George Washington.

Dublin was named at the request of an Irishman, Jonathan Sawyer, who donated the land for the town after stipulating its name. He wanted to please his wife, who was from Dublin.

The Ocute Indian Mounds at Blackshear's Ferry date back to 1000 B.C.

Points of Interest

In the Oconee River, on the Laurens County border, government biologists have discovered what seems to be a new species of fish.

Higher Education

Heart of Georgia Institute

Neighboring Counties:

  • Northeast: Johnson County
  • East: Emanuel County; Treutlen County
  • Southeast: Wheeler County
  • Southwest: Dodge County
  • West: Bleckley County
  • Northwest: Twiggs County; Wilkinson County

Cities and Towns:

- Cadwell town Incorporated Area
- Dexter town Incorporated Area
- Dublin (County Seat) city Incorporated Area
- Dudley city Incorporated Area
- East Dublin city Incorporated Area
- Montrose town Incorporated Area
- Rentz town Incorporated Area

County Resources:


Chamber of Commerce

Additional County Info

County Resources
Counties: US Map
The history of our nation was a prolonged struggle to define the relative roles and powers of our governments: federal, state, and local. And the names given the counties, our most locally based jurisdictions, reflects the "characteristic features of this country!"