Career College Search

Online Schools

Campus Schools

Georgia Counties
Georgia County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Georgia Counties

Georgia is divided into one hundred and fifty-nine counties. The original eight counties of the State of Georgia were Burke, Camden, Chatham, Effingham, Glynn, Liberty, Richmond and Wilkes all created on February 5, 1777. The last new county to be established in Georgia was Peach County, established in 1924.

Liberty County, Georgia

Liberty County Education, Geography, and HistoryLiberty County, Georgia Courthouse

Liberty County is a county located in the state of Georgia. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 63,453.  Liberty County was created on February 5, 1777. The county seat is Hinesville. The county is named in honor of Named in honor of the noted patriotism of the citizens of Midway in their support of the cause of colonial independence.

Liberty County is part of the Hinesville, GA Metropolitan Statistical Area, which is also included in the Savannah-Hinesville-Statesboro, GA Combined Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Liberty County Name

The county name honors Lyman Hall and Button Gwinnett of Midway, who were Georgia's first delegates to the Continental Congress and signers of the Declaration of Independence.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Liberty County History

Liberty County was created in 1777 from the colonial parishes of St. Andrews, St. James, and St. John. The land that made up these parishes was originally held by the Creek Indians. The county's name honors Lyman Hall and Button Gwinnett of Midway, who were Georgia's first delegates to the Continental Congress and signers of the Declaration of Independence.

Although not born in Georgia, Lyman Hall moved to present day Liberty County to serve as a physician to the settlers. Elected Governor in 1783, Hall became the first in that office to exercise strong executive leadership. An advocate of public schools, Hall helped to charter the University of Georgia.

The county's historical sites include the Midway Museum, located in a typical 18th-century house; the Dorchester Church built in 1854; and Fort Morris.

Points of Interest

Almost half of Liberty County's usable land area is occupied by the US Army installation, Fort Stewart.

Notable Citizens

Naturalist, mathematician and scholar Louis LeConte, for whom the LeConte pear was named, resided in Liberty County. His home is now the site of the LeConte Botanical Gardens.

Button Gwinnett, one of the signers of the Declaration of Independence, was from St. Catherine's Island in Liberty County.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 603 square miles (1,560 km2), of which 490 square miles (1,300 km2) is land and 113 square miles (290 km2) (18.7%) is water.

 Liberty county is located in southeast Georgia. The county is in the Ogeechee River basin.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Northeast: Bryan County
  • Southeast: North Atlantic Ocean
  • Southwest: McIntosh County; Long County
  • Northwest: Tattnall County; Evans County


Georgia Colleges, Universities, & Schools
Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge
Colleges & Universities
Colleges & Universities: Search or Browse over 8500 Colleges, Universities, and Trade Schools in the US..
Provides pricing transparency, scholarship information as well as numerous other key details on over 8,500 US colleges, universities and trade schools