Find the Right School

Find a College

Begin Now!

Online Colleges
Campus Colleges
Georgia Counties
Georgia County map
Click Image to Enlarge
Georgia Counties
Georgia is divided into 159 counties. Under the Georgia Constitution, Counties are granted home rule to deal with issues that are local in nature. Four consolidated city-Counties — Athens (Clarke County), Augusta (Richmond County), Columbus (Muscogee County), and Cusseta (Chattahoochee County) — exist.

Georgia has the second-highest number of Counties of any state in the United States, behind Texas (254). A few Georgia Counties have changed names over time. Jasper County was originally known as Randolph County. Later, the current Randolph County came into being. Webster County was once known as Kinchafoonee County, and Bartow County was formerly known as Cass County.

Madison County, Georgia

Madison County History, Geography, and Demographics

County Seat: Danielsville
Year Organized: 1811
Square Miles: 284
Court House:

P.O. Box 147
County Courthouse
Danielsville, GA 30633-0147

Etymology - Origin of County Name

It was named for President James Madison.


County QuickFacts: Census Bureau Quick Facts

County History

Madison County, the 38th county formed in Georgia, was created in 1811 from parts of Clarke, Elbert, Franklin, Jackson and Oglethorpe counties. It was named for President James Madison.

Points of Interest

The soils of Madison County were heavily damaged by the cotton monoculture common in this region prior to the 1930s. Agribusiness dominates the local economy, with poultry production particularly important.

Madison and Oglethorpe counties share Watson Mill Bridge State Park, the site of the longest covered bridge in Georgia. The bridge, which is over 100 years old, spans 229 feet of the South Fork of the Broad River. There are also facilities for camping, hiking trails, picnicking and fishing in the park.

The Madison County Courthouse, one of the most ornate in Georgia, was built in 1901 for the sum of $18,314. It is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. New Hope Presbyterian Church, established in 1788, is the third oldest church in Georgia.

Notable Citizens

Crawford W. Long, the first doctor to use ether in surgery, was born in Danielsville in 1815.

Neighboring Counties:

  • North: Franklin County
  • Northeast: Hart County
  • East: Elbert County
  • Southeast: Oglethorpe County
  • Southwest: Clarke County
  • West: Jackson County
  • Northwest: Banks County

Cities and Towns:

- Carlton city Incorporated Area
- Colbert city Incorporated Area
- Comer city Incorporated Area
- Danielsville (County Seat) city Incorporated Area
- Hull city Incorporated Area
- Ila city Incorporated Area

County Resources:


Additional County Info

County Resources
Counties: US Map
The history of our nation was a prolonged struggle to define the relative roles and powers of our governments: federal, state, and local. And the names given the counties, our most locally based jurisdictions, reflects the "characteristic features of this country!"