Career College Search

Online Schools

Campus Schools

Georgia Counties
Georgia County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Georgia Counties

Georgia is divided into one hundred and fifty-nine counties. The original eight counties of the State of Georgia were Burke, Camden, Chatham, Effingham, Glynn, Liberty, Richmond and Wilkes all created on February 5, 1777. The last new county to be established in Georgia was Peach County, established in 1924.

Taylor County, Georgia

Taylor County Education, Geography, and HistoryTaylor County, Georgia Courthouse

Taylor County is a county located in the west central portion of the state of Georgia. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 8,906. Taylor County was created on January 15, 1852. The county seat and largest city is Butler. The county is named in honor of Zachary Taylor (1784-1850), the twelfth President of the United States.

Etymology - Origin of Taylor County Name

The county was named after Zachary Taylor, who won a victory at Buena Vista in the Mexican War and later became the 12th President of the United States.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Taylor County History

Taylor County was created from Macon, Marion and Talbot counties in 1852, the 98th county organized. The county was named after Zachary Taylor, who won a victory at Buena Vista in the Mexican War and later became the 12th President of the United States.

The Tuscaloosa Formation, located in the county, is a sand clay formation that represents the first prominent coastal plains deposits laid.

Butler was named for General William Orlando Butler, another hero of the Mexican War.

Points of Interest

The Wire Road, which ran through Taylor County, was named for the telegraph wire that stretched along it. The road was part of the stage highway from Richmond to New Orleans.

Points of interest in Taylor County include: Beechwood Farm, the home of Confederate General John B. Gordon; and the site of Fort Lawrence, which was established by Colonel Benjamin Hawkins, for whom Hawkinsville was named.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 380 square miles (980 km2), of which 377 square miles (980 km2) is land and 3.0 square miles (7.8 km2) (0.8%) is water.

Taylor county is located close to the center of Georgia.        The county is dissected by the Fall Line geological formation. The upper half of the county is located in the Piedmont region and consists of gently rolling hills and clay-based soils. The lower half of the county is located in the Upper Atlantic Coastal Plain and is markedly flatter and the soil more sandy. The Flint River marks the entirety of the county's northeastern border.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Upson County
  • Northeast: Crawford County
  • East: Peach County
  • Southeast: Macon County
  • South: Schley County
  • Southwest: Marion County
  • Northwest: Talbot County


Georgia Colleges, Universities, & Schools
Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge