Colleges Search

Have you begun your college search? Find a college that's right for you. Acess over 8500 Colleges, Universities, and Trade Schools in the US.

Begin Now!

Online Schools

Campus Schools

Illinois Counties
Illinois County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Illinois Counties

There are 102 Counties in the state of Illinois.
Search & Apply to New Jobs *

Piatt County, Illinois

Piatt County Education, Geography, and HistoryPiatt County, Illinois Courthouse

Piatt County is a county located in the state of Illinois. According to the 2010 census, it had a population of 16,729. Its county seat is Monticello.

Piatt County is part of the Champaign–Urbana, IL Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Piatt County Name

James A. Piatt, Sr., settled in that area in 1829.


County QuickFacts: Census Bureau Quick Facts

Piatt County History

Piatt County was created on January 27, 1841 (Laws, 1841, p. 71) and was formed from DeWitt and Macon Counties. Present area, or parts of it, formerly included in: DeWitt County (1839–1841), Macon County (1831–1841), McLean County (1831–1839), Shelby County (1827–1831), Fayette County (1821–1827), Clark County (1819–1821), Crawford County (1816–1819), Edwards County (1815–1816), Madison County (1812–1815), St. Clair County (1801–1812) and Knox, Northwest Territory (1790–1801).

The County was named for James A. Piatt, Sr., who settled in area of the present county in 1829, coming from Indiana. The County Seat is Monticello (Temporary designation 1841-1842; Permanent designation 1842-Present).


According to the US Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 440 square miles (1,140 km2), of which, 440 square miles (1,140 km2) of it is land and 0 square miles (1 km2) of it (0.07%) is water.

Neighboring Counties:

  • Northeast: Champaign County
  • Southeast: Douglas County
  • South: Moultrie County
  • Southwest: Macon County
  • Northwest: DeWitt County; McLean County


Illinois Colleges, Universities, & Schools
Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Names given the counties, our most locally based jurisdictions, reflects the "characteristic features of this country!"
Hunting for a new job? Get advice or search over 1.6 million jobs on the largest job site
Colleges & Universities
Colleges & Universities: Search or Browse over 8500 Colleges, Universities, and Trade Schools in the US..

Find and Compare!

With access to over 8,500 schools to choose from!

Get Your Degree!

Find schools and get information on the program that’s right for you.

Powered by Campus Explorer

Search Jobs & Employment

Quick Job Search

Enter Keyword(s):

Enter a City:

Select a State:

Select a Category:

-- Advanced Job Search

-- Search by Company

Provides pricing transparency, scholarship information as well as numerous other key details on over 8,500 US colleges, universities and trade schools