Indiana Counties
Indiana County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Indiana Counties

Indiana is divided into ninety-two counties. The oldest and newest Counties in Indiana are Knox County (created 1790) and Newton County (created 1857).Many Indiana counties are named for the US Founding Fathers and personalities of the American Revolutionary War, the War of 1812 and Battle of Tippecanoe; early leaders of Indiana Territory and Indiana, as well as surrounding states like Michigan and Kentucky; plus Native American tribes and geographical features.

Crawford County, Indiana

Crawford County Education, Geography, and HistoryCrawford County, Indiana Courthouse

Crawford County is a county located in the state of Indiana. As of 2010, the population was 10,713.  Crawford County was created on January 29, 1818. The county seat is English. The county is named for Colonel William Crawford, surveyor of the Midwest and hero of the French and Indian War and Revolutionary War or possibly could be named for William H. Crawford, Treasury of Secretary when Crawford became a county in 1818.

Etymology - Origin of Crawford County Name

The county is named for Colonel William Crawford, the land agent of General Washington in the west, who was taken prisoner by the Indians and burned at the stake at Sandusky in 1782. Other sources say it may have been named for William H. Crawford, Treasury Secretary when Crawford became a county in 1818.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Crawford County History

Crawford County was organized by a Legislative act January 29, 1818, which became effective March 1, 1818. Some say it was named for William H. Crawford, who was US Treasury Secretary in 1818. Others say it was named for Col. William Crawford, who fought in the French and Indian War and Revolutionary War, and who was burned and scalped by Indians in 1782 in what is now Wyandot County, Ohio. The county seat was in Leavenworth for several decades but eventually moved to English.

Crawford County is divided into 9 Civil Townships as follows: Boone, Jennings, Johnson, Liberty, Ohio, Patoka, Sterling, Union and Whiskey Run.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 309 square miles (800 km2), of which 306 square miles (792 km2) is land and 3 square miles (8 km2) (1.03%) is water.

Crawford county is located in south Indiana. O'Bannon Woods State Park, Harrison-Crawford State Forest and part of Hoosier National Forest are located in this county.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Orange County
  • Northeast: Washington County
  • Southeast: Harrison County; Meade County, Ky.
  • Southwest: Perry County
  • West: Dubois County


Indiana Colleges, Universities, & Schools
Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge