Nebraska Counties
Nebraska County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Nebraska Counties

There is ninety-three counties in state of Nebraska. Despite the fact that Sarpy County contained the oldest settlement in the state, it was one of the last lands along the river to be recognized by law. Finally, on February 1, 1857, the land "where the cities meet the country" was officially created.

Cass County, Nebraska

Cass County Education, Geography, and HistoryCass County, Nebraska Courthouse

Cass County is a county located in the state of Nebraska. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 25,241. Its county seat is Plattsmouth. The county was formed in 1855 and named after General Lewis Cass.

Cass County is included in the Omaha-Council Bluffs, NE-IA Metropolitan Statistical Area

Etymology - Origin of Cass County Name

The county was named in honor of Gen. Lewis Cass, an American statesman and patriot.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Cass County History

Long before Cass County was organized, the rolling hills and lush valleys of this area were inhabited by Native Americans. Abundant water from both the Missouri and Platte Rivers and a wealth of fresh game made this area popular with both the Pawnee and Otoe tribes. Early history records indicate that this popularity also led to conflicts. In fact, one of the West's largest battles ever fought between Indian tribes is said to have occurred between the Omahas and the Otoes along the banks of Weeping Water Creek.

Early explorations of the area have been traced back to those of the French in the 1730s. Following a series of explorations in the early 1800s, trappers began to frequent the area in the 1820s and 1830s. Sometime around 1848 a Mormon named Libeas Coon established a ferry across the Missouri River for the convenience of the Mormons who were moving west. This resulted in a trail along the south side of the Platte River, but no permanent settlements.

The first federal government permit to settle in the area was issued to Samuel Martin, who in 1853 built a log house and trading post known as the "Old Barracks" near the confluence of the Platte and Missouri Rivers. In addition to trading furs with the Native Americans, Martin operated a ferry between Glenwood, Iowa, and Platteview, now known as Plattsmouth.

When the boundaries were officially adopted by the Legislature in 1855, the county was named in honor of Gen. Lewis Cass, an American statesman and patriot. In that same legislative act, Plattsmouth was designated as the county seat. The county's boundaries were redefined to their present dimensions the following year.

Despite three petition and special election attempts to move the county seat, the last coming in 1880, the courthouse has always remained in Plattsmouth. The original frame building was used until it was outgrown in 1891, at which time bonds were approved and the present courthouse was constructed.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 566 square miles (1,470 km2), of which 557 square miles (1,440 km2) is land and 8.4 square miles (22 km2) (1.5%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Sarpy County, Nebraska - north
  • Mills County, Iowa - northeast
  • Fremont County, Iowa - southeast
  • Otoe County, Nebraska - south
  • Lancaster County, Nebraska - west
  • Saunders County, Nebraska - northwest


Nebraska Colleges, Universities, & Schools
Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge