Nebraska Counties
Nebraska County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Nebraska Counties

There is ninety-three counties in state of Nebraska. Despite the fact that Sarpy County contained the oldest settlement in the state, it was one of the last lands along the river to be recognized by law. Finally, on February 1, 1857, the land "where the cities meet the country" was officially created.

Cuming County, Nebraska

Cuming County Education, Geography, and HistoryCuming County, Nebraska Courthouse

Cuming County is a county located in the state of Nebraska. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 9,139. Its county seat is West Point.

Etymology - Origin of Cuming County Name

Named after acting Territory Gov. Thomas B. Cuming.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Cuming County History

For three years after the original boundaries of Cuming County were defined in 1855, fictitious "paper" towns were designated as the county seat. The first was "Catherine," along the Elkhorn River. When the boundaries were redefined in 1857, the county seat was relocated to "Manhattan."

County organization came the following year and the county was named after acting Territory Gov. Thomas B. Cuming. The seat of local government was once again moved. This time it was to an actual settlement that had been known as New Philadelphia, which by then had been renamed West Point. It was named as such because it was located at the western-most point of where the Elkhorn River Valley was settled at the time.

The first officials to serve the county did so without pay for nearly five years. During that time period they also paid for necessary county supplies out of their own pockets.

In the early 1860s the area developed rapidly. J.D. Neligh, founder of West Point, journeyed to Omaha and Fontanelle to encourage settlers to come to the lush river valley. Seven families accepted his suggestion and, upon arriving in the area, called it the "Garden of the West."

As stores, hotels and a grist mill were built in West Point, the next move was to build a courthouse in 1870. The building, complete with a tower, would stand as a Northeast Nebraska landmark for many years.

The courthouse that serves the county today is a result of the foresight of residents and officials of the 1940s. Petitions were circulated and presented to the Board of Supervisors on May 6, 1947, asking that an election be held to approve a one-mill tax levy for five years to provide a building fund for a new courthouse. The election was held the following June and was resoundingly approved by a 3-to-1 margin.

Ground was broken on Sept. 1, 1953, immediately behind the old courthouse. Construction progressed so rapidly that the old courthouse was vacated and razed the following year. In December 1854, county offices moved into the new courthouse, which was dedicated July 21, 1955.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 575 square miles (1,490 km2), of which 571 square miles (1,480 km2) is land and 4.0 square miles (10 km2) (0.7%) is water

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Thurston County (northeast)
  • Burt County (east)
  • Dodge County (south)
  • Colfax County (southwest)
  • Stanton County (west)
  • Wayne County (northwest)


Nebraska Colleges, Universities, & Schools
Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge