Nebraska Counties
Nebraska County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Nebraska Counties

There is ninety-three counties in state of Nebraska. Despite the fact that Sarpy County contained the oldest settlement in the state, it was one of the last lands along the river to be recognized by law. Finally, on February 1, 1857, the land "where the cities meet the country" was officially created.

Dawes County, Nebraska

Dawes County Education, Geography, and HistoryDawes County, Nebraska Courthouse

Dawes County is a county located in the state of Nebraska. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 9,182. Its county seat is Chadron. The county was formed in 1885 and named after Governor James W. Dawes.

Etymology - Origin of Dawes County Name

Namedin honor of Gov. James. W. Dawes.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Dawes County History

Dawes County is noted for it beautiful pine forest ridges and for being home to the historic Fort Robinson, the "Outpost of the Plains" that was established by the United States Army in 1874. Today, Fort Robinson is one of Nebraska's most popular tourist and vacation attractions.

In the 1870s, the area that would become Dawes County was inhabited by two large divisions of the Sioux tribe. The Brules were located at the Spotted Tail agency on the White River, while the Ogalalas were at the Red Cloud agency just east of Fort Robinson. Toward the end of the 1870s and into the 1880s, cattlemen came to the area to lay out ranches.

Since the lands were unsurveyed and belonged to the public domain, the unwritten law of the land at the time was the first to establish a ranch on a certain creek or in a certain locale was entitled to sufficient range for his needs. The "range" boundaries were well defined and no one encroached upon the rights of his neighbor. Small ranches would have 500 head of cattle, while others were as large as 2,000 to 5,000 head. While the unwritten law of the land worked well, these ranchers had no legal rights to the land.

In 1882, the cattlemen received word that two railroads were going to extend their lines through the territory and that the government was about to survey the area with the intent of opening the lands for legal entry and settlement. With a new era on the horizon, open range ranching began to give way to the grain farming of the new homesteaders. By 1885, the cowboy era had virtually come to an end.

Dawes County was officially organized that same year, when it was split from Sioux County. It was named in honor of Gov. James. W. Dawes. The issue of locating a county seat was hotly contested between Chadron and Dawes City, which would become Whitney. Chadron became the seat of local government by a narrow margin in a special election. Two years later, in 1887, the county's original courthouse was build for approximately $35,000. The present courthouse was constructed in 1936.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,401 square miles (3,630 km2), of which 1,396 square miles (3,620 km2) is land and 4.6 square miles (12 km2) (0.3%) is water

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Oglala Lakota County, South Dakota - northeast
  • Sheridan County, Nebraska - east
  • Box Butte County, Nebraska - south
  • Sioux County, Nebraska - west
  • Fall River County, South Dakota - northwest


Nebraska Colleges, Universities, & Schools
Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge