Nebraska Counties
Nebraska County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Nebraska Counties

There is ninety-three counties in state of Nebraska. Despite the fact that Sarpy County contained the oldest settlement in the state, it was one of the last lands along the river to be recognized by law. Finally, on February 1, 1857, the land "where the cities meet the country" was officially created.

Dawson County, Nebraska

Dawson County Education, Geography, and HistoryDawson County, Nebraska Courthouse

Dawson County is a county located in the state of Nebraska. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 24,326. Its county seat is Lexington.

Dawson County is part of the Lexington, NE Micropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Dawson County Name

It was named in honor of Jacob Dawson, who was the first postmaster in the settlement of Lancaster, the forerunner to the state's capital city.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Dawson County History

Dawson County created quite a bit of excitement in 1873, not only in Nebraska but also across the country. It was reported that year that gold had been discovered about 1? miles east of the settlement of Plum Creek. As word spread, gold seekers flocked to the area in search of their fortunes. The pieces of metal that had been dug up were later determined not to be gold and those that came to the area in hopes of find great wealth went away empty handed.

The county's original boundaries were established by the Territorial Legislature in 1860. A proclamation signed by acting Gov. William James in 1871 officially organized the county. It was named in honor of Jacob Dawson, who was the first postmaster in the settlement of Lancaster, the forerunner to the state's capital city.

Ten years before the county was organized, a telegraph line was located through the area. Small settlements and ranches quickly sprang up every few miles along the line. The most significant of these early settlements was called Plum Creek, on the Overland Trail along the south bank of the Platte River. As a telegraph and stage coach station, Plum Creek became an important stopping point between Fort Kearny and Fort McPherson. Within a short time the Union Pacific Railroad passed through the area.

Plum Creek was the primary settlement of the county. A post office, school and churches were built in the early 1870s. The most important construction project, however, may have been a bridge built across the Platte River. Since the only other bridge across the river was located about 150 miles to the east, the Plum Creek bridge further opened the area to settlers.

Plum Creek continued to grow and in 1886 it was incorporated. Three years later the residents held a town meeting and decided to rename the community in honor of a famous battle that occurred during the Civil War. From that point on, the county seat of Dawson County would be known as Lexington.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,019 square miles (2,640 km2), of which 1,013 square miles (2,620 km2) is land and 6.3 square miles (16 km2) (0.6%) is water

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Buffalo County (east)
  • Phelps County (southeast)
  • Gosper County (south)
  • Frontier County (southwest)
  • Lincoln County (west)
  • Custer County (north)


Nebraska Colleges, Universities, & Schools
Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge