Nebraska Counties
Nebraska County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Nebraska Counties

There is ninety-three counties in state of Nebraska. Despite the fact that Sarpy County contained the oldest settlement in the state, it was one of the last lands along the river to be recognized by law. Finally, on February 1, 1857, the land "where the cities meet the country" was officially created.

Loup County, Nebraska

Loup County Education, Geography, and HistoryLoup County, Nebraska Courthouse

Loup County is a county located in the state of Nebraska. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 632, making it the fifth-least populous county in Nebraska and the tenth-least populous county in the United States. Its county seat is Taylor. The county was named after the Pawnee Loup Indians.

Etymology - Origin of Loup County Name

The county received its name from the Loup River, which cuts across the southwest corner of the present county.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Loup County History

Loup County may very well be the only county in Nebraska that can make the claim that local tax dollars were not used for the construction of the county's first courthouse.

When Loup County was officially organized on Feb. 23, 1883, a local rancher wanted to see the county seat remain in Taylor. He decided the best way to ensure this was to erect and donate a building to the county that could be used as a courthouse. The following year, a two-story, four-room building was completed and would serve as the courthouse for the next 74 years.

During that time, the building would deteriorate to the point that it would become known as Loup County's "winter icebox." In 1958, despite a court challenge, the county unveiled its present courthouse. Gone were the days when county officials would have to brave the extreme elements to go outdoors to pump drinking water or walk a half-block away to a building where "Men" and "Women" signs were posted outside.

Loup County was originally created in 1855 and included land as far east as the present day Colfax County. The county received its name from the Loup River, which cuts across the southwest corner of the present county. In the northeast sector of this Sandhills County is the Calamus River, which empties into the Calamus Reservoir, the state's third largest lake located about 15 miles northeast of Taylor.

Before Taylor would become the official county seat, a fierce struggle developed between Taylor and the settlements of Kent, Almeria and Clarke's Point. In a special election conducted in May 1883, Taylor was chosen over Almeria by a mere two votes.

Several famous names in Nebraska history have a link to Loup County. First, Amos Harris, said to be Nebraska's first black cowboy, and his wife, Eliza, at one time ranged cattle in the North Loup Valley. It is also said that "Doc" Middleton and "Kid" Wade, notorious cattle and horse rustlers, operated out of the Loup County area in its earliest days

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 571 square miles (1,480 km2), of which 568 square miles (1,470 km2) is land and 2.8 square miles (7.3 km2) (0.5%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Holt County (northeast)
  • Garfield County (east)
  • Custer County (south)
  • Blaine County (west)
  • Brown County (northwest)
  • Rock County (north)


Nebraska Colleges, Universities, & Schools
Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge