Nebraska Counties
Nebraska County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Nebraska Counties

There is ninety-three counties in state of Nebraska. Despite the fact that Sarpy County contained the oldest settlement in the state, it was one of the last lands along the river to be recognized by law. Finally, on February 1, 1857, the land "where the cities meet the country" was officially created.

Platte County, Nebraska

Platte County Education, Geography, and HistoryPlatte County, Nebraska Courthouse

Platte County is a county located in the state of Nebraska. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 32,237. Its county seat is Columbus. The county was created in 1855.

Platte County comprises the Columbus, NE Micropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Platte County Name

Named after the Platte River which makes up its southern boundary.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Platte County History

Named after the Platte River which makes up its southern boundary, Platte County was officially established by the Legislature on Jan. 26, 1856. Three years later its boundaries were redefined to include an area to the west known as Monroe County, giving the county its present boundaries.

In the summer of 1856, advance agents from the Columbus Town Company came to the area from Columbus, Ohio. Upon reaching the Loup River the agents marked the site for a future town to be called Columbus. The new settlement quickly grew and soon had a mill, hotel and general store. The first meeting of the Board of Commissioners was conducted in December 1857 in a log house and it would be more than 10 years before the county would have a courthouse.

When the Union Pacific Railroad headed west through Columbus in 1866, the area's growth accelerated at a faster pace. The following year a special election was held to approve the issuance of $16,000 in bonds to build a courthouse and jail. Construction was completed in 1870.

Another boost to the county came in 1881 when the Atchison and Nebraska Branch of the Burlington and Missouri River Railroad constructed a rail line connecting Columbus with Lincoln. Columbus rapidly became a flourishing railroad center and commerce hub.

The courthouse that was completed in 1870 was soon outgrown by the county. On June 26, 1922, the current courthouse was dedicated. The Grecian-Ionic style structure occupied a quarter-block in downtown Columbus when it opened. But in the early 1970s, the need for additional space once again became apparent and a $1.76 million addition opened in September 1976. The two-story addition houses the sheriff's office, civil defense office, County Board room, treasurer's office and the courtrooms.

Platte County enjoys a diverse economy today. Farming and livestock production, along with manufacturing, lead the way. Among the many manufacturing operations to locate in the county is Lindsay Irrigation, known worldwide for its center pivot systems.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 685 square miles (1,770 km2), of which 674 square miles (1,750 km2) is land and 11 square miles (28 km2) (1.5%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Colfax County (east)
  • Butler County (southeast)
  • Polk County (south)
  • Merrick County (south)
  • Nance County (southwest)
  • Boone County (west)
  • Madison County (north)
  • Stanton County (northeast)


Nebraska Colleges, Universities, & Schools
Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge